The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
19:47Astana
19:47Bishkek
19:17Delhi
21:47Beijing
17:47Moscow
18:47Islamabad
18:47Dushanbe
18:47Tashkent
Observer States:
18:17Tehran
16:47Minsk
21:47Ulan-Bator
18:17Kabul
:
18:17Yerevan
19:17Katmandu
16:47Ankara
20:47Phnom Penh
19:17Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

20.07.2017 10:40
SCO steps up coordinated disaster prevention efforts
17.07.2017 11:29
Shanghai Cooperation Organisation: 16 years of steady progress
12.07.2017 10:54
SCO and CICA International Marathon to take place in Astana
09.07.2017 10:52
SCO Ambassadors Club at Great Silk Roads golden intersection
05.07.2017 14:07
SCO-UNESCAP partnership elevated to entirely new level: Expanding international transportation cooperation
04.07.2017 14:05
SCO Secretary-General meets with Uzbekistani Ambassador on the conclusion of his mission in China
30.06.2017 14:01
SCO Secretary General had an online chat with Xinhuanet.com visitors with 986 questions asked
29.06.2017 16:14
SCO Observer Mission monitors Senate elections in Kazakhstan
29.06.2017 14:25
SCO Secretary-General: The road to peace and prosperity lies in building a safe and stable environment on a vast territory between three oceans, and
28.06.2017 11:46
SCO Secretary-General meets Talbak Nazarov, member of Tajikistans Academy of Sciences
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
Khamenei appoints new head of Iran's armed forces
30.06.2016 17:18
Khamenei appoints new head of Iran's armed forces

Iranian Supreme Leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei has appointed Mohammad Bagheri as the chief of staff of the Iranian Armed Forces, replacing Hassan Firouzabadi, who held the position for 27 years. Firouzabadi, anoutspoken military commander who in recent years has been supportive of President Hassan Rouhanis diplomatic efforts, will serve as an adviser to Khamenei, who is commander in chief of the armed forces.

Before his June 28 appointment, Maj. Gen. Bagheri, whose real last name is Afshordi, was not known as a high-profile personality in Iranian media. Bagheri joined the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC) in 1980 and eventually became one of the senior intelligence operational commanders of the Iran-Iraq War. Bagheri was serving as the deputy of intelligence and operations of the armed forces before his appointment. His brother, Hassan Bagheri, former deputy head of ground forces of the IRGC who died in 1983, was one of the famous commanders of the Iran-Iraq War and played an important role in the liberation of Khorramshahr.

With consideration of your valuable experienceduring the Sacred Defense[Iran-Iraq War] and your responsibilities at the armed forces and Khatam al-Anbiya [IRGC engineering conglomerate], I appoint you as chief of staff of the armed forces, Khameneis order read, which was shared by Iranian media.

Tasnim News Agency republished an older interview with Bagheri that was conducted when he was deputy of the armed forces. In a reference to his low profile in the media, particularly compared with the profile and name recognition of his brother, Bagheri said, I dont see myself as a significant person in order to be seen. It is natural that martyr Hassan Bagheri and other martyrs like him had this greatness, with their shadow cast over me and people like me. Alluding to his work in intelligence, he added, Of course, my work and employment is such that I have less opportunity for the media, and I am not inclined to have a presence in the public.

On Iranssecurity in the region, especially with respect to the rise of the Islamic State terrorist group, which has a presence on both sides ofIrans borders, Bagheri said Irans security position is the best it has been in Islamic Republic history. He said there was a time that Iraqi troops had occupied parts of Iranian territory and a time when the United Statesinvaded Iraq in 2003 in which many people felt that Iran would be next. However, now there is no threat of such land invasions at the moment, Bagheri said.

On the origins of the intelligence operations of the armed forces, Bagheri said that after the Iraqi invasion and occupation of southwest Iran, many Iranians from all across the country volunteered. However, these forces did not know the terrain of that part of Iran nor did they have an understanding of the forces they were fighting, and it was necessary to set up intelligence units in order to study them.

When asked to compare Khameneis management of the armed forces to that of former Supreme Leader Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini, Bagheri described Khamenei as being directly involved in all of the military decisions. He said that Khamenei, due to his position as president before becoming supreme leader, has a firm understanding of managing the country and of the armed forces and has direct communication with all of the commanders.

Bagheri also said that he was part of the second layer of students who took over the US Embassy in November 1979. At the time he was an engineering student at Amirkabir University.

All-Monitor


  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

Rials collapse doesnt mean Iranian economics demise
12.10.2012 13:33

Comments(0)