The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
19:56Astana
19:56Bishkek
19:26Delhi
21:56Beijing
17:56Moscow
18:56Islamabad
18:56Dushanbe
18:56Tashkent
Observer States:
18:26Tehran
16:56Minsk
21:56Ulan-Bator
18:26Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
18:26Yerevan
19:26Katmandu
16:56Ankara
20:56Phnom Penh
19:26Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

13.09.2018 12:58
The Ministry of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation will take part in the First China International Import Expo
01.08.2018 15:22
British press intimidate public opinion
08.06.2018 16:27
Customs services of the SCO member states are expanding cooperation
08.06.2018 16:23
Russia celebrates the 75th anniversary of victory in Battle of Stalingrad
08.06.2018 16:21
International Reconstruction Fund is vital for Syria
08.06.2018 15:51
Sergei Shoigu urged the SCO to create tools against the penetration of terrorism
08.06.2018 15:48
The SCO and the United Nations are interested in strengthening anti-terrorist cooperation
08.06.2018 15:38
Co-operation of Russia and China in agriculture will increase
15.05.2018 15:31
Theresa May sacrificed Salisbury for her political ambitions
12.04.2018 11:22
A a mousetrap for Theresa May
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
       
SCO Secretariat SCO Business Council The Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure Of SCO SCO Interbank Consortium
Young people from SCO countries try their hand at debate
14.06.2017 11:04

On 21-22 May 2017, the SCO Secretariat in Beijing hosted international youth debates for students from the SCO countries. The debates were on the agenda of Kazakhstan's SCO Presidency (2016-2017).

Student activists from the SCO countries who are studying in Beijing discussed issues of concern to young people, such as the influence of television on morals, the advantages of paid and free university education, employment guarantees for graduates in SCO countries, and whether early marriages are a positive or a problem for a nation.

"Interesting and lively discussions were held on these and other issues. You have shown that you know a great deal about the SCO and can uphold your views and use the power of argument and fact to convince your counterparts. This is heartening and inspiring," said SCO Secretary-General Rashid Alimov.

"It is symbolic that the first youth debates, which were held on the 15th anniversary of the SCO Charter and the 10th anniversary of the Treaty on Long-Term Good-Neighborliness, Friendship and Cooperation Between the Member States of the SCO, have confirmed the traditions of mutual trust, friendship and respect for the diversity of our countries' cultures and civilisations. But the most important thing is that our young people have demonstrated their desire to strengthen friendship and to work together to build a common future, which is strengthening our belief in the upcoming SCO generation," Rashid Alimov added.

Kazakhstan's Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to China Shakhrat Nuryshev pointed out young people's growing interest in the SCO's efforts to strengthen mutual trust, friendship and neighbourly relations between nations. He also praised the high standards of their education and their "desire to learn the skills of persuading and moulding the audience's opinion on the issues at hand."

"The SCO is a unique format where the member states can discuss and develop their development strategies in various spheres of cooperation. By taking part in these debates, young people not only learn more about SCO activities but also outline their part in the future development of their countries and the SCO," said Diana Akhmetzhanova, a fourth-year student at Beijing Foreign Studies University and head of the jury.

The winners of the first youth debates were Sang Yiyi and Shu Han from China, Mahmudzhon Khamraliyev and Anushevron Sattorov from Tajikistan, and Dana Utegenova from Kazakhstan. SCO Secretary-General Rashid Alimov and Kazakhstan's Ambassador to China Shakhrat Nuryshev awarded diplomas and certificates of merit to the debate winners and organisers.

During their meeting before the awards ceremony, Rashid Alimov and Shakhrat Nuryshev discussed the final preparations for the upcoming SCO summit in Astana.

The first youth debates were held in the form of public discussions and opinion exchanges on eight issues of concern to young people in the context of SCO priorities.

The debate participants were young people from SCO countries who are studying at Beijing University of International Business and Economics, Beijing Foreign Studies University, Tsinghua University, Yangzhou University, Renmin University of China and Central University of Finance and Economics.

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

The traditional game "SCO Model" held in Beijing
08.06.2018 16:14
SCO forum has become an effective platform for discussing topical issues
08.06.2018 15:30
China urges to abandon "Cold War mentality"
09.04.2018 15:25
6th International Business Forum SCO Moscow Business Dialog: new quality and dynamics of economic cooperation
07.12.2017 14:55
SCO foreign ministers meet in New York
07.12.2017 12:25
New addition to SCO family and great expectations from the newcomers
07.12.2017 12:00
Rashid Alimov has a meeting with Shamshad Akhtar in Bangkok
29.11.2017 14:44
SCO-ESCAP relations enter a new stage
28.11.2017 14:45
Rashid Alimov: Economic cooperation is a key priority for SCO at the new development stage. The SCO Secretary-General delivers an address at the ESCAP
27.11.2017 14:46
SCO information stand installed in Bangkok
24.11.2017 14:51

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.