The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
01:32Astana
01:32Bishkek
01:02Delhi
03:32Beijing
23:32Moscow
00:32Islamabad
00:32Dushanbe
00:32Tashkent
Observer States:
00:02Tehran
22:32Minsk
03:32Ulan-Bator
00:02Kabul
::
00:02Yerevan
01:02Katmandu
22:32Ankara
02:32Phnom Penh
01:02Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

22.07.2020 16:18
SCO Secretariat and Pakistani Centre for Global & Strategic Studies hold a webinar
22.07.2020 15:51
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a videoconference on SCO digital economy and e-commerce in COVID-19 environment
21.07.2020 10:58
SCO Secretary-General meets with Swiss ambassador to China
21.07.2020 10:55
Vladimir Norov: Chinas achievements in eliminating poverty have won high recognition from the world community. Article by SCO Secretary-General for
16.07.2020 11:49
Upcoming webinar on the theme: "SCO: The way to Regional Cooperation and Integrated Development"
16.07.2020 11:44
Meeting of Experts on Preparations for the Meeting of Health Ministers of the SCO Member States
14.07.2020 09:48
Interview by the SCO Secretary-General on the fifth anniversary of the adoption of the SCO Development Strategy Towards 2025
07.07.2020 11:50
SCO Secretary-Generals interview on the occasion of International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:03
SCO Secretary-General addresses a special event on the International Day against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:00
SCO Secretary-General addresses OSCE Security Review Conference
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
Terrorism and extremism to be focus of SCO Summit next month new governments first major engagement
07.05.2019 17:39

The first major international engagement of the new government will be the two days Bishkek Shanghai Cooperation Organization Summit (SCO) from June 13-14 where the focus would be on radicalism and terrorism. This forum will also give India a chance to raise issues relating to terrorism, the stability of Afghanistan, and rising radicalism in Central Asian countries.

Sharing his views with Financial Express Online, Prof Rajan Kumar, Jawaharlal Nehru University, says, The SCO is an important forum where India will discuss the issue of rising radicalism in Central Asia and emerging politics in Afghanistan. Keeping in mind the negotiations between the Taliban and the US, the SCO will devise its own strategies for Afghanistan.

According to him, both the security and stability of Afghanistan is one of the fundamental concerns for all the SCO members and these member countries will try to contain the spread of radicalism from Afghanistan to other neighboring countries.

Both India and Uzbekistan are already discussing the issue of radicalism. They would like to promote the virtues of moderate forms of Islam as characterized by the Hanafi School of jurisprudence, he adds.

For the SCO member countries, the growing influence of Wahhabism is an important concern, especially the Central Asian states. Therefore, containing them is an important issue for all Central Asian states, Kumar points out. Adding, dealing with the IS forces who might have returned to Central Asia from Syria and Iraq is another concern for the SCO.

Members of the SCO include China, Russia, India, and Pakistan and the Central Asian countries Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan whose main focus is to join hands together to fight terrorism, separatism, and extremism. Both India and Pakistan became full members of the SCO in 2017.

During the summit, the listing of Masood Azhar, JeMs chief who is based in Pakistan too will be discussed.

Later this year, the SCO member nations will be participating in a joint anti-terrorism exercise. A decision for this joint the exercise was taken earlier this year Sary-Arka-Antiterror 2019 at the 34th meeting of the SCOs Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure (RATS) council held in Tashkent, Uzbekistan.

Also, plans were announced to hold the first level of the joint border operation Solidarity 2019-2021, where the heads of the border services, and training workshops on identifying and preventing the use of the Internet for terrorist, separatist and extremist purposes.

RATS is a permanent organ of the SCO which serves to promote cooperation of member states against terrorism, separatism, and extremism and is headquartered in Tashkent.

India-Kyrgyzstan Bilateral Summit

According to diplomatic sources, on the sidelines, the bilateral summit is expected to take place which will focus on launching a joint study on opportunities from Eurasian Economic Union and market access for Indian goods and merchandise. Besides the launch of `Namaskar Eurasia in Bishkek, leaders of both countries will also talk about strengthening economic and trade cooperation.

Later this month industry body FICCI will hold an India-Kyrgyz Business forum meeting in New Delhi where the agenda for the business talks between the two countries will be firmed up.

Source: https://www.financialexpress.com

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

SCO Secretariat and Pakistani Centre for Global & Strategic Studies hold a webinar
22.07.2020 16:18
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a videoconference on SCO digital economy and e-commerce in COVID-19 environment
22.07.2020 15:51
Exclusive Live Interview of His Excellency Vladimir Norov, Secretary-General, SCO with Center for Global & Strategic Studies (CGSS), Islamabad
22.07.2020 09:52
SCO Secretary-General meets with Swiss ambassador to China
21.07.2020 10:58
Vladimir Norov: Chinas achievements in eliminating poverty have won high recognition from the world community. Article by SCO Secretary-General for
21.07.2020 10:55
Upcoming webinar on the theme: "SCO: The way to Regional Cooperation and Integrated Development"
16.07.2020 11:49
Interview by the SCO Secretary-General on the fifth anniversary of the adoption of the SCO Development Strategy Towards 2025
14.07.2020 09:48
SCO Secretary-General addresses OSCE Security Review Conference
06.07.2020 13:00
The SCO countries have demonstrated a high level of solidarity in the fight against the pandemic, said Secretary-General of SCO
21.05.2020 13:46
SCO Secretary-General's telephone conversation with the Foreign Minister of Tajikistan
21.05.2020 13:42

Comments(0)

.