The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
09:12Astana
09:12Bishkek
08:42Delhi
11:12Beijing
07:12Moscow
08:12Islamabad
08:12Dushanbe
08:12Tashkent
Observer States:
07:42Tehran
06:12Minsk
11:12Ulan-Bator
07:42Kabul
::
07:42Yerevan
08:42Katmandu
06:12Ankara
10:12Phnom Penh
08:42Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
Russia's Presidency in SCO SCO Secretariat SCO Business Council The Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure Of SCO SCO Interbank Consortium Expocenter
Tajikistans President receives SCO Secretary-General
20.05.2019 18:25

On 17 May 2019, President of the Republic of Tajikistan Emomali Rahmon met with Secretary-General of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Vladimir Norov, who was in Dushanbe on a visit.

The President of Tajikistan expressed his support for the SCO Secretariat's initiatives regarding the Organisation's development and strengthening its positions. "Tajikistan is ready to back the Secretariat's proposals and initiatives aimed at expanding mutually beneficial cooperation of the SCO member states in a number of areas, as well as the implementation of the signed agreements," President of Tajikistan Emomali Rahmon said.

During the meeting, the parties shared their views on the realisation of large-scale projects in transport, energy, industry, construction infrastructure, telecommunications, high technology and innovations, as well as agricultural sector development for the benefit of the member states.

The President of Tajikistan underscored that his country supports the renewal of the SCO economic platform, the implementation of the One Belt One Road projects, setting up transport and logistics centres to connect Central Asia with Southeast Asia markets and European countries via China and Russia, establishing financial institutions such as the SCO Development Bank and the SCO Development Fund, and the formation of the SCO Anti-Drug Centre.

The SCO Secretary-General informed the President of Tajikistan on the progress of the SCO multi-thronged efforts based on the initiatives voiced by the SCO member states leaders at the 2018 Qingdao Summit.

Vladimir Norov gave a detailed account of preparations for the principal event of the year — the SCO Summit to be held in Bishkek on 13-14 June 2019.

He also briefed Mr Rahmon on the successful conclusion of the 14th Meeting of Security Council Secretaries of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Member States (Bishkek, 14-15 May 2019), where a number of effective decisions were taken within the framework of joint efforts against the threats facing the SCO region.

Mr Norov noted in this context that work is underway on fulfilling the Action Plan on the implementation of the Joint Appeal of the SCO Heads of State to the Youth adopted last year, which is aimed at countering attempts to involve young people in the activities of destructive groups.

Also, a special focus was given to fighting drug trafficking and organised transborder crime, and their financial ties with the "three evils".

The parties noted the importance of the SCO-Afghanistan Contact Group's activities and other cooperation mechanisms on Afghanistan which are directed at restoring peace and stability in the country.

Vladimir Norov also informed the President of Tajikistan that the Secretariat proposed the parties consider the project concept for the Eight SCO Wonders to be presented in Beijing in June, as part of cultural and humanitarian cooperation and promotion of mutually beneficial tourism in the SCO space.

Mr Norov informed the President that in his current responsible position he is determined to make a contribution to further SCO development, enhancing inter-state relations within the Organisation, and defending the member states' interests, as well as to make efforts to fulfil the agreements on strengthening trust and neighbourly relations between the SCO member states.

Cooperation in the economy, culture, education, science, the media, sport, tourism and SCO member states' cultural heritage were also discussed during the meeting.

Source: http://eng.sectsco.org

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

The SCO countries have demonstrated a high level of solidarity in the fight against the pandemic, said Secretary-General of SCO
21.05.2020 13:46
SCO Secretary-General's telephone conversation with the Foreign Minister of Tajikistan
21.05.2020 13:42
The Astana Times: SCO Member States Stand for Collective Efforts in Fight Against Pandemic
18.05.2020 15:15
Press release on the meeting of SCO foreign ministers via video conference
18.05.2020 15:09
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a video conference of SCO foreign ministers
18.05.2020 15:03
Interview with the SCO Secretary-General Multilateral cooperation in healthcare and sanitary and epidemiological well-being in the SCO countries is m
13.05.2020 13:48
The SCO Secretariat has prepared a video message expressing gratitude to all doctors and medical personnel
13.05.2020 13:30
TASS: SCO Secretary-General: The Great Victory predetermined the worlds future
13.05.2020 11:45
Vladimir Norov: Solidarity, cooperation are the only right choices. Article by SCO Secretary-General for China Daily
23.04.2020 18:00
Vladimir Norov: Collective efforts needed to fight coronavirus
21.04.2020 09:49

Comments(0)

.