The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
02:46Astana
02:46Bishkek
02:16Delhi
04:46Beijing
00:46Moscow
01:46Islamabad
01:46Dushanbe
01:46Tashkent
Observer States:
01:16Tehran
23:46Minsk
04:46Ulan-Bator
01:16Kabul
::
01:16Yerevan
02:16Katmandu
23:46Ankara
03:46Phnom Penh
02:16Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
SCO, BRICS need to deal with fake news
04.06.2019 16:17

False information spread via social networks, websites, newspapers, TV channels and radio stations triggers processes that cannot be managed, says Denis Tyurin, director of the SCO Business Club. Its impact on political and economic processes is almost impossible to predict. Disclosure of insider information can influence stock market prices, bring capitalization of big companies down by billions of dollars, have effect on entire industries. This topic becomes especially relevant when countries declare information wars on each other.

Fabricated news stories have become a serious problem of the present day. Broad penetration of the Internet has not just increased the variety of available information, but resulted in spread of fake stories on an unprecedented scale. The technology of circulating information has changed in recent years. Therefore, it has become important to master the tools and methods for checking its reliability. Today, fake news stories have turned into a weapon of information wars whose danger should not be underestimated.

Google, Facebook and other technological giants are looking for mechanisms to restrict spread of false stories, and also prejudiced ones. Given the currently available technology, the process of checking news items is quite labor-intensive.

In Russia, the national Youth Public Chamber initiated research of the problem. A website, Vbrosam.net, was created to fight fake news. Leaders of the project believe that checking information should be responsibility of both mass media and society.

The website has become a tool for collecting public opinions on the believability of various mass media. Its idea is to create an anti-ranking of publications spreading fake news depending on the number of bogus stories they publish. The project is based on the cross-checking technology, which allows readers of news sites to complain about reports that, in their opinion, contain unreliable or false information. Users voting identifies websites that are leaders for misinforming their readers.

The websites visitors may see the ratings of unreliable information and publications abusing the trust of their readers. In addition, everyone can participate in a vote or suggest other new items he/she considers fake.

The unreliability rating is not created by the websites editors, but is based on users votes. There are rankings for today, past week, and past month. Editors engage leading experts to comment on fake stories that have received the biggest number of users votes. Among the websites experts are well-known Russian scientists, political, social and military experts, economists and lawyers. The website has accounts in the social networks VKontakte, Twitter and Facebook.

In July 2018, Johannesburg hosted a meeting of BRICS countries that was devoted to information problems, where the Russian delegation made a presentation on misinformation and fight against fabricated news.

We prepared a special presentation showing how Russia, having found itself in the midst of a mud-slinging campaign, counteracts it. This is not just an issue for foreign-policy agencies, it is a blow dealt against the entire society, said Maria Zakharova, the spokesperson for the Russian Foreign Ministry.

The action group of Vbrosam.net calls for the SCO and BRICS countries to fight against fake news. It has been proposed to use the project as the basis for setting up an international information center for preventing spread of fabricated news with support from leading mass media of the SCO and BRICS member states.

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

The SCO countries have demonstrated a high level of solidarity in the fight against the pandemic, said Secretary-General of SCO
21.05.2020 13:46
SCO Secretary-General's telephone conversation with the Foreign Minister of Tajikistan
21.05.2020 13:42
The Astana Times: SCO Member States Stand for Collective Efforts in Fight Against Pandemic
18.05.2020 15:15
Press release on the meeting of SCO foreign ministers via video conference
18.05.2020 15:09
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a video conference of SCO foreign ministers
18.05.2020 15:03
Interview with the SCO Secretary-General Multilateral cooperation in healthcare and sanitary and epidemiological well-being in the SCO countries is m
13.05.2020 13:48
The SCO Secretariat has prepared a video message expressing gratitude to all doctors and medical personnel
13.05.2020 13:30
TASS: SCO Secretary-General: The Great Victory predetermined the worlds future
13.05.2020 11:45
Vladimir Norov: Solidarity, cooperation are the only right choices. Article by SCO Secretary-General for China Daily
23.04.2020 18:00
Vladimir Norov: Collective efforts needed to fight coronavirus
21.04.2020 09:49

Comments(0)

.