The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
17:27Astana
17:27Bishkek
16:57Delhi
19:27Beijing
15:27Moscow
16:27Islamabad
16:27Dushanbe
16:27Tashkent
Observer States:
15:57Tehran
14:27Minsk
19:27Ulan-Bator
15:57Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
15:57Yerevan
16:57Katmandu
14:27Ankara
18:27Phnom Penh
16:57Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
SCO Secretary-General meets with UNCTAD Secretary-General Mukhisa Kituyi
03.03.2020 16:03

On 26 February 2020, SCO Secretary-General Vladimir Norov had a meeting with UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) Secretary-General Mukhisa Kituyi.

Vladimir Norov noted that UNCTAD, an important UN agency, plays a major role in assisting and supporting developing states, especially landlocked countries.

The SCO Secretary-General noted UNCTAD's work to implement trade cooperation projects in various countries, including expanded e-commerce, efforts to streamline customs regulation and to allow developing countries to access foreign markets more easily. He also pointed out that the SCO was interested in establishing regular working contacts with UNCTAD.

Vladimir Norov said the SCO was now a major venue for strengthening multilateral trade and economic cooperation. The Organisation's region boasts a huge consumer market, a skilled workforce, rich mineral deposits and energy resources, as well as advanced production facilities and technologies.

Speaking about the development of the information and communications technology (ICT) sector, Vladimir Norov noted that it positively influenced the development of e-commerce in SCO member states. For example, e-commerce now accounts for 35 percent of China's trade volumes, and women account for 55 percent of e-commerce employees. According to the SCO Secretary-General, e-commerce helps create jobs for both women and young people, in the first place.

Over 800 million young people aged between 15 and 24 live in the SCO region; consequently, the SCO finds it of upmost importance to forge a healthy digital culture here. This implies efforts to expand the potential of young people, to upgrade their intellectual skills and knowledge and to work to expand young people's business operations in the field of digital and electronic innovations.

UNCTAD Secretary-General Mukhisa Kituyi reaffirmed his readiness to expand relations in numerous spheres and to examine the most acceptable cooperation format with due consideration for both organisations' mandates. In his opinion, SCO member states will find it interesting to gain an insight into UNCTAD's experience of helping various countries strengthen their trade and economic potential, ease their access to foreign markets and address socio-economic matters.

Mukhisa Kituyi noted that UNCTAD was ready to provide SCO member states with analytical and information-statistical material and to share expert assessments and the experience of providing technical assistance. In this connection, he suggested studying the opportunity of organising joint thematic SCO-UNCTAD events regarding the development of such things as e-commerce, transits, customs regulation, etc.

The meeting took place in a friendly manner.

Source: http://eng.sectsco.org/news/20200228/633431.html

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

The SCO countries have demonstrated a high level of solidarity in the fight against the pandemic, said Secretary-General of SCO
21.05.2020 13:46
SCO Secretary-General's telephone conversation with the Foreign Minister of Tajikistan
21.05.2020 13:42
The Astana Times: SCO Member States Stand for Collective Efforts in Fight Against Pandemic
18.05.2020 15:15
Press release on the meeting of SCO foreign ministers via video conference
18.05.2020 15:09
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a video conference of SCO foreign ministers
18.05.2020 15:03
Interview with the SCO Secretary-General “Multilateral cooperation in healthcare and sanitary and epidemiological well-being in the SCO countries is m
13.05.2020 13:48
The SCO Secretariat has prepared a video message expressing gratitude to all doctors and medical personnel
13.05.2020 13:30
TASS: “SCO Secretary-General: The Great Victory predetermined the world’s future”
13.05.2020 11:45
Vladimir Norov: Solidarity, cooperation are the only right choices. Article by SCO Secretary-General for China Daily
23.04.2020 18:00
Vladimir Norov: Collective efforts needed to fight coronavirus
21.04.2020 09:49

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.