The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
17:58Astana
17:58Bishkek
17:28Delhi
19:58Beijing
15:58Moscow
16:58Islamabad
16:58Dushanbe
16:58Tashkent
Observer States:
16:28Tehran
14:58Minsk
19:58Ulan-Bator
16:28Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
16:28Yerevan
17:28Katmandu
14:58Ankara
18:58Phnom Penh
17:28Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
Russia's Presidency in SCO SCO Secretariat SCO Business Council The Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure Of SCO SCO Interbank Consortium Expocenter
SCO Secretary-General meets with Afghan Deputy Minister of the Interior
12.03.2020 11:46

On 5 March, SCO Secretary-General Vladimir Norov met with Afghan Deputy Minister of Interior Affairs Mohammad Hashim Aurtaq on the sidelines of the 63rd session of the UN Commission on Narcotic Drugs in Vienna.

They exchanged views on current developments in Afghanistan and opportunities for promoting cooperation between the SCO and Kabul in combatting drug trafficking.

Vladimir Norov said that an expeditious peace settlement in the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan is one of the most important factors in maintaining and enhancing security and stability in the SCO space. SCO member states support the efforts of the Afghan government and people aimed at restoring peace, ensuring the country's economic development and countering terrorism, extremism and drug-related crime.

The Secretary-General gave a detailed update on progress in implementing the SCO Anti-Drug Strategy and its Programme of Action for 2018-2023, and invited Kabul officials to take part in the activities set out in these documents.

In his turn, Mohammad Hashim Aurtaq said that the Afghan authorities were firmly committed to fighting against the drug threat in Afghanistan. He stressed that SCO member states and Afghanistan must pool their efforts to prevent the diversion of precursors — chemical substances used for drug production.

Vladimir Norov and Mohammad Hashim Aurtaq touched on cooperation in implementing the Road Map for further action by the SCO-Afghanistan Contact Group. The parties focused on such issues as information exchange, training of skilled personnel, preventive measures and joint operations to stop trafficking in drugs, psychotropic substances and their precursors.

They agreed to continue their working contacts.

Source: http://eng.sectsco.org/news/20200305/639680.html

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

The SCO countries have demonstrated a high level of solidarity in the fight against the pandemic, said Secretary-General of SCO
21.05.2020 13:46
SCO Secretary-General's telephone conversation with the Foreign Minister of Tajikistan
21.05.2020 13:42
The Astana Times: SCO Member States Stand for Collective Efforts in Fight Against Pandemic
18.05.2020 15:15
Press release on the meeting of SCO foreign ministers via video conference
18.05.2020 15:09
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a video conference of SCO foreign ministers
18.05.2020 15:03
Interview with the SCO Secretary-General “Multilateral cooperation in healthcare and sanitary and epidemiological well-being in the SCO countries is m
13.05.2020 13:48
The SCO Secretariat has prepared a video message expressing gratitude to all doctors and medical personnel
13.05.2020 13:30
TASS: “SCO Secretary-General: The Great Victory predetermined the world’s future”
13.05.2020 11:45
Vladimir Norov: Solidarity, cooperation are the only right choices. Article by SCO Secretary-General for China Daily
23.04.2020 18:00
Vladimir Norov: Collective efforts needed to fight coronavirus
21.04.2020 09:49

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.