The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
19:04Astana
19:04Bishkek
18:34Delhi
21:04Beijing
17:04Moscow
18:04Islamabad
18:04Dushanbe
18:04Tashkent
Observer States:
17:34Tehran
16:04Minsk
21:04Ulan-Bator
17:34Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
17:34Yerevan
18:34Katmandu
16:04Ankara
20:04Phnom Penh
18:34Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
SCO Secretary-General meets with Director General of India’s Narcotics Control Bureau
12.03.2020 15:12

On 6 March in Vienna, on the sidelines of the 63rd session of the United Nations Commission on Narcotic Drugs (CND), SCO Secretary-General Vladimir Norov met with Rakesh Asthana, Director General of India's Narcotics Control Bureau.

The parties discussed the progress of the SCO Anti-Drug Strategy for 2018-2023 and the action plan for its implementation. They also shared updates on the drug situation in the SCO Member States. Vladimir Norov thanked his counterpart for his valuable participation in the joint high-level event "UN and SCO: Countering Drug Trafficking via Darknet."

The Secretary-General highly praised India's initiatives the aim of which is to establish cooperation within the SCO to prevent financial flows related to illicit drug trafficking, as well as initiatives focusing on teaching narcologists modern methods of prevention and treatment of addiction to psychoactive drugs, rehabilitation and re-socialisation of persons suffering from drug addiction.

Rakesh Asthana noted that the illegal drug traffic posing a threat to India is coming from both Afghanistan and the Golden Triangle. Therefore, it is in New Delhi's interests to intercept any supply channels for prohibited substances and develop efficient measures, including stronger security at maritime and land borders, intensive exchange of intelligence data and prevention of drug trade in the hidden segment of the internet.

Mr Asthana stressed that multilateral anti-drug cooperation within the SCO has high practical value in terms of sharing best practices between participants and availability of professional training for employees of competent authorities.

The parties also covered India's involvement in the Web international anti-drug operation planned during Russia's SCO Presidency, and the Meeting of the Heads of the SCO Member States' Counter-Narcotics Agencies.

Source: eng.sectsco.org/news/20200307/639738.html

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

The SCO countries have demonstrated a high level of solidarity in the fight against the pandemic, said Secretary-General of SCO
21.05.2020 13:46
SCO Secretary-General's telephone conversation with the Foreign Minister of Tajikistan
21.05.2020 13:42
The Astana Times: SCO Member States Stand for Collective Efforts in Fight Against Pandemic
18.05.2020 15:15
Press release on the meeting of SCO foreign ministers via video conference
18.05.2020 15:09
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a video conference of SCO foreign ministers
18.05.2020 15:03
Interview with the SCO Secretary-General “Multilateral cooperation in healthcare and sanitary and epidemiological well-being in the SCO countries is m
13.05.2020 13:48
The SCO Secretariat has prepared a video message expressing gratitude to all doctors and medical personnel
13.05.2020 13:30
TASS: “SCO Secretary-General: The Great Victory predetermined the world’s future”
13.05.2020 11:45
Vladimir Norov: Solidarity, cooperation are the only right choices. Article by SCO Secretary-General for China Daily
23.04.2020 18:00
Vladimir Norov: Collective efforts needed to fight coronavirus
21.04.2020 09:49

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.