The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
19:11Astana
19:11Bishkek
18:41Delhi
21:11Beijing
17:11Moscow
18:11Islamabad
18:11Dushanbe
18:11Tashkent
Observer States:
17:41Tehran
16:11Minsk
21:11Ulan-Bator
17:41Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
17:41Yerevan
18:41Katmandu
16:11Ankara
20:11Phnom Penh
18:41Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
Press release on the meeting of SCO foreign ministers via video conference
18.05.2020 15:09

On 13 May, under the chairmanship of Russia's Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, the foreign ministers of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) held a meeting via video conference.

The ministers focused on the priority tasks aimed at developing the SCO's activities in the context of the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). They stressed the importance of promoting international cooperation in order to overcome the social, trade and economic aftershock of COVID-19 and prevent its impact on regional and global security and stability. They reaffirmed their readiness to further promote the SCO's efforts to help reach a political settlement in Afghanistan as soon as possible.

The ministers spoke in favour of strengthening the SCO coordination within the UN and other multilateral platforms, including during events to mark the 75th anniversary of the Victory in WWII and the 75th anniversary of the United Nations.

The ministers had a detailed discussion on the implementation of Russia's Action Plan for its presidency at the organisation with an emphasis on the preparations for the SCO Summit in St Petersburg.

Following the video conference, a Statement of the SCO Foreign Ministers was adopted.

Please see the Statement by the SCO Foreign Ministers below

Statement by the SCO Foreign Ministers Concerning the Spread of the Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Foreign ministers of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation member states are deeply concerned about the dangerous spread of the novel coronavirus in the world, which continues to cause more human losses and significant socioeconomic damage. While stressing the responsibility of every state to ensure the sanitary and epidemiological wellbeing of the population, the ministers believe that fighting the COVID-19 pandemic requires decisive, well-coordinated and inclusive multilateral action with the United Nations system retaining its central role. In this context, the ministers noted efficient cooperation between the SCO and the WHO and other international organisations and associations fighting the coronavirus.

The ministers underscore the importance of the outcome of the emergency G20 summit aimed at protecting lives, restoring the stability of the global economy and stimulating its further sustainable growth. While relying on the UN General Assembly resolutions, adopted by consensus, on global solidarity and international cooperation against COVID-19, it is important to insist on UN-developed universal approaches to solving the above-stated tasks in accordance with international law, including creating free, just, non-discriminatory, transparent and stable conditions for trade and investment. The serious economic problems in developing countries caused by the pandemic require special attention.

The ministers note the efforts of the Session of Heads of Sanitary and Epidemiological Welfare Services of the SCO Member States aimed at implementing the 10 June 2018 Statement by the Heads of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Member States on Joint Efforts Against the Threat of Epidemics in the SCO Space. They welcome the efficient mutual support which, on the basis of the Shanghai spirit, the SCO member states are offering each other during the COVID-19 pandemic with respect to providing their citizens with medical, social and other protection.

In order to ensure sanitary and epidemiological wellbeing and biological security in the region, the ministers find it reasonable to adopt a comprehensive action plan for the SCO member states at the upcoming SCO summit in St Petersburg which will, among other things, provide for increasing the capacity of laboratories, improving the qualifications of specialists, conducting joint scientific research, and developing vaccines and efficient medical treatments.

13 May 2020

Source: http://eng.sectsco.org/news/20200513/646389.html

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

The SCO countries have demonstrated a high level of solidarity in the fight against the pandemic, said Secretary-General of SCO
21.05.2020 13:46
SCO Secretary-General's telephone conversation with the Foreign Minister of Tajikistan
21.05.2020 13:42
The Astana Times: SCO Member States Stand for Collective Efforts in Fight Against Pandemic
18.05.2020 15:15
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a video conference of SCO foreign ministers
18.05.2020 15:03
Interview with the SCO Secretary-General “Multilateral cooperation in healthcare and sanitary and epidemiological well-being in the SCO countries is m
13.05.2020 13:48
The SCO Secretariat has prepared a video message expressing gratitude to all doctors and medical personnel
13.05.2020 13:30
TASS: “SCO Secretary-General: The Great Victory predetermined the world’s future”
13.05.2020 11:45
Vladimir Norov: Solidarity, cooperation are the only right choices. Article by SCO Secretary-General for China Daily
23.04.2020 18:00
Vladimir Norov: Collective efforts needed to fight coronavirus
21.04.2020 09:49
Russian Presidency in SCO
14.04.2020 11:12

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.