The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
-
Member States:
11:07Astana
11:07Bishkek
10:37Delhi
13:07Beijing
09:07Moscow
10:07Islamabad
10:07Dushanbe
10:07Tashkent
Observer States:
09:37Tehran
08:07Minsk
13:07Ulan-Bator
09:37Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
09:37Yerevan
10:37Katmandu
08:07Ankara
12:07Phnom Penh
10:37Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
SCO Secretariat SCO Business Council The Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure Of SCO SCO Interbank Consortium
Meeting of the Heads of the SCO Countries Counter-Narcotics Agencies Held in Moscow
20.05.2009 17:59
In Moscow a meeting took place between the heads of the relevant authorities of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization member states, vested with the authority in counternarcotic actions, as reported by the web site of FDCS of the Russian Federation.

The SCO Secretary-General Bolat Nurgalijev, the Special Representative of the President of Russia for the Shanghai Cooperation Organization affairs and the national coordinator of SCO from Russia Leonid Moiseev, the chairing SCO Russian Federation delegation led by Director of the Russian Federal Drug Control Service Viktor Ivanov took part in it.

Relevant authorities of other SCO member states were represented by the Kazakhstan delegations led by the Chairman of the Anti-Drugs Control Committee of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Kazakhstan Zh. Suleimenov, the Chinese delegation led by the Vice Minister of Public Security Zhang Xinfeng, the Kirghizian delegation led by the Drug Control Agency Director B.Nogoibaev, the Tajikistan delegation led by the First Deputy Director of the Drug Control Agency V.Azamatov, the Uzbekistan Delegation led by the Director of the National Information and Analytical Center for Drug Control R. Mukhamedov.

During the meeting the delegations heads informed of the results of the implementation in their countries of the Agreement between the SCO member states on cooperation in the struggle against the illicit traffic in narcotic drugs, psychotropic substances and their precursors dated 2004. The parties noted that the anti-narcotic cooperation between the SCO member states is dynamically developing and continually strengthening.

The main outcome of the meeting was creation of an effective mechanism of fighting drug menace, including structures of SCO counter-drug activities coordination.

Following the results of the meeting, it was decided to create the SCO member states counternarcotics agencies Senior Officials Meeting in the capacity of a standing experts working group. One of its tasks will be draft project development on strengthening the regional and international cooperation in struggle against drugs illicit production and trafficking in Afghanistan. Working groups of experts are also being created for enhancement of the contractual legal framework of cooperation, law protection activity and suppression of narco-crime, precursors control, narcotics sales slowdown.

Besides, a temporary experts working group of Senior Officials Meeting of the SCO member states relevant agencies will be also formed and vested with the authority in counternarcotic actions, anti-narcotic strategy project development of the SCO member states for 2009-2014.

It was highlighted that over recent years the international drug dealing’s pressure on the SCO member states has significantly increased. The unceasing flow of drugs from Afghanistan has essentially complicated the criminogenic situation in the region.

The participants of the meeting pointed out that for eight years opiates production in Afghanistan has increased more than 40 times, and, as a consequence, drug abusers’ number has grown. The delegations elaborated proposals for activization of the fighting drug menace coming from the territory of this country. In particular, it was decided to successively persist in the common opinion that the International stability promotion forces situated in Afghanistan under the mandate of the UN Security Council must more actively struggle against illicit drugs production and trafficking. This work should be carried out jointly with the Afghan government, neighbouring and other interested states.

The SCO states intend to consolidatedly favor strengthening of international cooperation in struggle against illicit drugs production and trafficking in Afghanistan within the framework of UN, including work on steadfast implementation of clauses of the UN Security Council resolution No. 1817 of June 11, 2008.

It is decided to recommend to the Secretariat of the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime to examine questions of wider and more efficient use of human resources of the countries of the region in order to control illicit drug trafficking and to actively cooperate with them in gathering and analysis of information about drug syndicates activity and their leaders.

The participants of the meeting stated that without destruction of the infrastructure connected with illicit drugs production in Afghanistan and an alternative agriculture development in the country, it is not possible significantly reduce the use of opiates in the world, nor eliminate main sources of international terrorism finance; without all that there will be no settled peace in Afghanistan, tranquility and security in all countries of the region.

The parties unanimously declared that joint efforts of the SCO member states will facilitate to a large degree the elimination of drug menace coming from the territory of Afghanistan, as well as stability and security assurance in SCO responsibility zone.
  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

SCO Secretary-General meets with EU Special Representative for Central Asia
12.07.2019 16:25
SCO Kunming International Marathon receives IAAF Bronze Label
12.07.2019 16:23
India should clearly demarcate its fundamental interests
08.07.2019 17:57
Sri Lanka expects to become a full member of SCO soon
28.06.2019 14:02
SCO, BRICS need to deal with fake news
04.06.2019 16:17
SCO summit: milestone event in Kyrgyzstan’s political life
04.06.2019 16:05
SCO Forum: preparing for the next summit
04.06.2019 15:58
Tajikistan’s President receives SCO Secretary-General
20.05.2019 18:25
Ceremony to open Heilongjiang Hall takes place at SCO Secretariat
13.05.2019 17:50
Terrorism and extremism to be focus of SCO Summit next month – new government’s first major engagement
07.05.2019 17:39

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.