Hao Weiwei, Xinhua news agency What pushes Beijing and Moscow to sign century-long energy contracts? / SCO Shanghai Cooperation Organization

The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
03:07Astana
03:07Bishkek
02:37Delhi
05:07Beijing
01:07Moscow
02:07Islamabad
02:07Dushanbe
02:07Tashkent
Observer States:
01:37Tehran
00:07Minsk
05:07Ulan-Bator
01:37Kabul
::
01:37Yerevan
02:37Katmandu
00:07Ankara
04:07Phnom Penh
02:37Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

22.07.2020 16:18
SCO Secretariat and Pakistani Centre for Global & Strategic Studies hold a webinar
22.07.2020 15:51
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a videoconference on SCO digital economy and e-commerce in COVID-19 environment
21.07.2020 10:58
SCO Secretary-General meets with Swiss ambassador to China
21.07.2020 10:55
Vladimir Norov: Chinas achievements in eliminating poverty have won high recognition from the world community. Article by SCO Secretary-General for
16.07.2020 11:49
Upcoming webinar on the theme: "SCO: The way to Regional Cooperation and Integrated Development"
16.07.2020 11:44
Meeting of Experts on Preparations for the Meeting of Health Ministers of the SCO Member States
14.07.2020 09:48
Interview by the SCO Secretary-General on the fifth anniversary of the adoption of the SCO Development Strategy Towards 2025
07.07.2020 11:50
SCO Secretary-Generals interview on the occasion of International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:03
SCO Secretary-General addresses a special event on the International Day against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:00
SCO Secretary-General addresses OSCE Security Review Conference
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
What pushes Beijing and Moscow to sign century-long energy contracts?
25.10.2014 13:29 Hao Weiwei, Xinhua news agency

Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev came to China in October with a two-day official visit. During his stay in Beijing, he talked to Chinese Internet users at the Xinhua news agency, saying that Russias oil major Rosneft and Chinas Sinopec had signed a memorandum that envisaged an increase of Russian oil supply to China by 10 million metric tons a year, which would amount to 100 million metric tons in ten years. The total cost of this supply will reach $85 billion.

This news soon topped the news rating on Chinese websites and next day appeared on the first pages of some Chinese newspapers.

The energy sector is definitely a very promising area of Chinese-Russian cooperation, as the Russian premier said. This year, the parties have signed a number of unprecedented documents in the sphere. The $270 billion contract for supply of 46 million metric tons to China for 25 years deserves a separate mentioning. It is no wonder that Russian Energy Minister Alexander Novak has described 2013 as a breakthrough year in energy cooperation between Moscow and Beijing.

China and Russia have cooperated in the strategic energy sphere for a long time, but it was only at the beginning of this year that this cooperation acquired special dynamics. Chinese experts point out that China and Russia mutually complement each other in the sector, which guarantees mutual benefits from bilateral cooperation, and name several reasons that have caused bilateral energy interaction to grow more active.

First of all, China, as the worlds biggest energy consumer, can become the best option for Russia to increase its hydrocarbon exports as demand for Russian oil and gas is falling on its traditional European market and the slate gas revolution is beginning to transform the situation on the global energy market. Professor Wang Zhen from the China University of Petroleum says that Russian oil production has been growing steadily since 2000, and the bulk of the increase comes from the Far East. Because of it, entering Asian markets, especially China, is the optimal choice for Russia.

Second, money received from pre-paid contracts for energy supply to China may help Russia to overcome its economic difficulties. The country is now witnessing the most severe economic winter since the financial crisis of 2008. Feng Yujun, director of the Institute of Russian Studies of the Chinese Academy of Contemporary International Relations, says that taking up markets in Asia Pacific, especially in China, is Russias strategic task, fulfillment of which will ensure its financial stability and implementation of the promised social guarantees.

Third, China, in its turn, wants to diversify channels of energy supply, so development of energy cooperation with Russia will guarantee its energy security. Let me recall that in 2012 Chinas dependence on imported oil reached 58% and on imported gas 30%. Wang Zhen emphasized the breakthrough that had been achieved at the Chinese-Russian gas talks, saying that it would contribute to energy reconstruction and environment protection.

Dmitry Medvedev recalled that Russia had plenty of energy resources and China a huge sales market. In this connection, energy cooperation between Beijing and Moscow will benefit both countries and their population.

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

Vladimir Norov: Collective efforts needed to fight coronavirus
21.04.2020 09:49
Russia, China Demonstrate 'New Concept of International Security' in Baltic Sea
27.07.2017 17:53
SCO Secretary-General: The road to peace and prosperity lies in building a safe and stable environment on a vast territory between three oceans, and
29.06.2017 14:25
Rashid Alimov: Leaders of SCO member states in Astana once again called on the world to join efforts in countering todays challenges and threats
12.06.2017 11:21
Tajikistan Presented Projects of Obtaining Credit by PRC within SCO
13.11.2009 12:32
The SCO Conference Took Place in the Accounts Chamber of the Russian Federation
11.11.2009 16:04
A Conference of the SCO Countries Ministers of Finance and Heads of Central Banks to Take Place in Alma Ata
14.10.2009 16:46
Dmitry Medvedev: Russia will Strengthen Mechanisms of Collaboration within CIS, SCO and BRIC
24.09.2009 09:09
The 13th St. Petersburg International Economic Forum
05.06.2009 15:53
Russian President's greetings to participants of the St Petersburg International Economic Forum
04.06.2009 18:11

Comments(0)

.