The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
07:14Astana
07:14Bishkek
06:44Delhi
09:14Beijing
05:14Moscow
06:14Islamabad
06:14Dushanbe
06:14Tashkent
Observer States:
05:44Tehran
04:14Minsk
09:14Ulan-Bator
05:44Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
05:44Yerevan
06:44Katmandu
04:14Ankara
08:14Phnom Penh
06:44Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
President of Kazakhstan receives heads of delegations attending the SCO Defence Ministers Meeting
07.06.2017 11:21

On 7 June 2017, President of the Republic of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev received heads of delegations attending the SCO Defence Ministers Meeting.

Present at the meeting were Defence Minister of the Republic of Kazakhstan Saken Zhasuzakov, Defence Minister of the People's Republic of China Chang Wanquan, Defence Minister of the Russian Federation Sergei Shoigu, Defence Minister of the Republic of Tajikistan Sherali Mirzo, Defence Minister of the Republic of Uzbekistan Kabul Berdiev, Chief of the General Staff of the Kyrgyz Republic Rayimberdi Duishenbiyev, and SCO Secretary-General Rashid Alimov.

President Nazarbayev noted in his welcoming remarks the importance of the SCO defence ministers' meeting held in the run-up to the convocation of the Council of SCO Heads of State in Astana and the opening of EXPO 2017 in the same city.

"The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation has gained a reputation of a serious regional association, which was created by states close to each other in cultural, territorial and historical respects to address economic cooperation issues," he said.

According to President Nazarbayev, it is 15 years since the SCO Charter has been adopted, during which period a large amount of joint work has been done.

"It is planned to accept two major countries, India and Pakistan, as full SCO members at the forthcoming Council of SCO Heads of State. Thus, the SCO will represent about 40 percent of the world population. The main thing is to preserve the Shanghai Spirit based on addressing all emerging issues by consensus," he said.

President Nazarbayev stressed the need for strengthening the SCO's economic dimension.

"The New Silk Road programme is what underpins the SCO's positive dynamics. This programme is supported by all member-states, especially by Kazakhstan, a close neighbour of the PRC," he said.

In conclusion, he noted that the work done by the defence ministries should be closely linked with economic integration in the SCO.

Source: President of the Republic of Kazakhstan website www.akorda.kz

 

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

Chinese President Xi Says China Facing ‘Difficult Situation’ Amid Rapid Spread of Coronavirus
03.02.2020 18:14
India Marks Grand Opening of Military Exercise with Russia to Boost Ties
12.12.2019 14:03
Kashmir’s Special Status, a Mess Created by Congress, Says Prime Minister Modi
03.12.2019 18:25
India Claims Terrorist Violence Declined, Cross Border Infiltration Rises After Kashmir Action
03.12.2019 18:21
Chinese Sanctions to Take Effect Against US Human Rights Watch For Backing Violence in Hong Kong
02.12.2019 18:19
Turkey’s Excuse: Erdogan Chases for Uighurs in Syria
26.09.2019 14:42
Belarusian President Offers to Launch Joint Anti-Terror Effort of UN, EU, CSTO, CIS, SCO
04.09.2019 14:53
Battle for Idlib continues
04.06.2019 15:47
SCO Secretary-General’s speech at the high-level international conference International and Regional Cooperation on Countering Terrorism and Its Finan
20.05.2019 18:28
Kommersant: SCO members deem terrorism as major threat
17.05.2019 10:37

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.