The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
07:19Astana
07:19Bishkek
06:49Delhi
09:19Beijing
05:19Moscow
06:19Islamabad
06:19Dushanbe
06:19Tashkent
Observer States:
05:49Tehran
04:19Minsk
09:19Ulan-Bator
05:49Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
05:49Yerevan
06:49Katmandu
04:19Ankara
08:19Phnom Penh
06:49Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

22.07.2020 16:18
SCO Secretariat and Pakistani Centre for Global & Strategic Studies hold a webinar
22.07.2020 15:51
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a videoconference on SCO digital economy and e-commerce in COVID-19 environment
21.07.2020 10:58
SCO Secretary-General meets with Swiss ambassador to China
21.07.2020 10:55
Vladimir Norov: “China’s achievements in eliminating poverty have won high recognition from the world community.” Article by SCO Secretary-General for
16.07.2020 11:49
Upcoming webinar on the theme: "SCO: The way to Regional Cooperation and Integrated Development"
16.07.2020 11:44
Meeting of Experts on Preparations for the Meeting of Health Ministers of the SCO Member States
14.07.2020 09:48
Interview by the SCO Secretary-General on the fifth anniversary of the adoption of the SCO Development Strategy Towards 2025
07.07.2020 11:50
SCO Secretary-General’s interview on the occasion of International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:03
SCO Secretary-General addresses a special event on the International Day against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:00
SCO Secretary-General addresses OSCE Security Review Conference
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
Bakhtiyor Khakimov: economic cooperation in SCO needs to catch up with political dialog
07.12.2017 11:47

Economic cooperation within the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) needs to catch up with the existing political dialog, Bakhtiyor Khakimov, the Russian president’s envoy for SCO affairs and the Foreign Ministry’s ambassador-at-large, said at the international panel conference “Shanghai Cooperation Organization: a promising platform for broad, mutually beneficial cooperation and integration in Eurasia,” which was held at the Russian Economic Development Ministry in October.

Today, after the organization admitted two new full members, India and Pakistan, it is possible to talk about its increased potential and new opportunities, the diplomat explained. Therefore, conversion of this potential and the opportunities into real action is becoming a crucial task, he said.

One of the SCO’s key objectives in the economic sector is implementation of the agreement on creating favorable conditions for truck shipments, Khakimov said. “The agreement was signed and came into force back in 2014, a joint commission was setup to ensure that practical steps were taken. We are now discussing establishment of a center for issuing permits, which will enable us to quickly build interaction in the area of truck shipments on a large territory,” he explained.

Besides, the issues of the Development Bank and the Development Fund of the SCO still remain unresolved, Khakimov said. “The countries’ stances are different on these topics, and we have yet to reach an agreement. But it is obvious for everyone that financial mechanisms are necessary,” he noted.

Economic cooperation within the SCO is developing in two directions, the diplomat pointed out. The first, strategic direction is aimed at combining national development strategies and the potentials of integrative formats, such as the Eurasian Economic Union, the One Belt, One Road initiative and ASEAN.

“The other, more pragmatic direction is about establishing contacts between business communities and, at the same time, between regions instead of industries,” Khakimov said. The Russian initiative of setting up a new SCO Forum of Heads of Region is being developed in this context and has already gained certain support, he added.

“I urge all of us to start working on concrete projects in real life rather than on paper,” he concluded.

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

Putin, Berdimuhamedov hold telephone talk
13.05.2020 14:27
SCO Secretary-General meets with President of MODUL University Vienna
12.03.2020 11:51
Erdogan Neglects Relationship With China Pursuing His Own Interests
10.03.2020 16:26
India Attends SCO Working Group on Military Cooperation in Pakistan
25.02.2020 15:12
Tajik Foreign Minister arrives in Moscow on official visit
25.02.2020 14:22
Iran, Russia review bilateral cooperation in SCO
25.02.2020 13:59
Only 100,000 People Expected on Trump’s Visit Not 7 Million
20.02.2020 16:47
India Not to Revoke Special Status of Northeastern States Bordering China - Home Minister
20.02.2020 16:42
Secretary General of Shanghai Cooperation Organization meets with President of Azerbaijan
14.02.2020 14:29
China-Russia ties to deepen despite US wedge
24.01.2020 11:49

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.