The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
07:03Astana
07:03Bishkek
06:33Delhi
09:03Beijing
05:03Moscow
06:03Islamabad
06:03Dushanbe
06:03Tashkent
Observer States:
05:33Tehran
04:03Minsk
09:03Ulan-Bator
05:33Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
05:33Yerevan
06:33Katmandu
04:03Ankara
08:03Phnom Penh
06:33Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

22.07.2020 16:18
SCO Secretariat and Pakistani Centre for Global & Strategic Studies hold a webinar
22.07.2020 15:51
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a videoconference on SCO digital economy and e-commerce in COVID-19 environment
21.07.2020 10:58
SCO Secretary-General meets with Swiss ambassador to China
21.07.2020 10:55
Vladimir Norov: “China’s achievements in eliminating poverty have won high recognition from the world community.” Article by SCO Secretary-General for
16.07.2020 11:49
Upcoming webinar on the theme: "SCO: The way to Regional Cooperation and Integrated Development"
16.07.2020 11:44
Meeting of Experts on Preparations for the Meeting of Health Ministers of the SCO Member States
14.07.2020 09:48
Interview by the SCO Secretary-General on the fifth anniversary of the adoption of the SCO Development Strategy Towards 2025
07.07.2020 11:50
SCO Secretary-General’s interview on the occasion of International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:03
SCO Secretary-General addresses a special event on the International Day against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:00
SCO Secretary-General addresses OSCE Security Review Conference
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
SCO, Red Cross sign memorandum of understanding
13.06.2017 10:10

On 9 June 2017, the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Secretariat and the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) signed a memorandum of understanding on the sidelines of the SCO Heads of State Council Meeting in Astana. The document was signed by SCO Secretary-General Rashid Alimov and ICRC Vice President Christine Beerli.

The memorandum declares that the parties will maintain a dialogue on issues related to international humanitarian law (IHL) applicable only to armed conflicts; help implement IHL norms and other international legal documents; circulate legal information about the IHL and its implementation; develop a dialogue in the humanitarian sphere; and organise events to prevent and respond to emergencies.

The parties will also cooperate in law enforcement, education and healthcare by regularly exchanging information, legal documents and recommendations on issues of mutual interest. They will also cooperate drafting and implementing joint projects and programmes.

Before the signing ceremony, the SCO secretary-general and the ICRC vice president had a meeting where they exchanged opinions on the areas of cooperation of mutual interest.

"We highly appreciate the work done by the ICRC, as its actions demonstrate the organisation's independence and neutrality, and its adherence to the supremacy of law and provision of humanitarian protection," said Mr Alimov. "The SCO shares the same values — respect for generally recognised goals and principles of international law, first of all those related to maintaining global peace and security, developing cooperation between nations, and respect for independence and equality. The SCO proceeds from a format of equal multilateral partnership. This is what we base and will continue to base our interaction with all international structures, regional and non-governmental organisations, on, in particular the ICRC."

The signing of the memorandum with the ICRC, one of the world's oldest organisations, clearly indicates that the SCO seeks to focus on the humanitarian aspect and on ensuring prosperity for people living in the SCO countries.

The International Committee of the Red Cross is an independent organisation that was set up to provide protection and aid to those affected by armed conflicts and clashes. Its other functions include caring for the wounded, visiting prisoners of war and those in jail, reuniting separated families, protecting civilians, providing aid to victims of conflicts and coordinating efforts of the search and rescue services. The ICRC also provides medical aid in the world's hot spots, delivers and distributes humanitarian aid and looks after refugee camps in armed conflict zones and areas hit by natural disasters. The organisation was founded in 1863 and is based in Switzerland (Geneva).

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

Putin, Berdimuhamedov hold telephone talk
13.05.2020 14:27
SCO Secretary-General meets with President of MODUL University Vienna
12.03.2020 11:51
Erdogan Neglects Relationship With China Pursuing His Own Interests
10.03.2020 16:26
India Attends SCO Working Group on Military Cooperation in Pakistan
25.02.2020 15:12
Tajik Foreign Minister arrives in Moscow on official visit
25.02.2020 14:22
Iran, Russia review bilateral cooperation in SCO
25.02.2020 13:59
Only 100,000 People Expected on Trump’s Visit Not 7 Million
20.02.2020 16:47
India Not to Revoke Special Status of Northeastern States Bordering China - Home Minister
20.02.2020 16:42
Secretary General of Shanghai Cooperation Organization meets with President of Azerbaijan
14.02.2020 14:29
China-Russia ties to deepen despite US wedge
24.01.2020 11:49

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.