Elmira Toktogulova, Kyrgyzstan Bishkek: city at the foot of Heavenly Mountains / SCO Shanghai Cooperation Organization

The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
-
Member States:
11:37Astana
11:37Bishkek
11:07Delhi
13:37Beijing
09:37Moscow
10:37Islamabad
10:37Dushanbe
10:37Tashkent
Observer States:
10:07Tehran
08:37Minsk
13:37Ulan-Bator
10:07Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
10:07Yerevan
11:07Katmandu
08:37Ankara
12:37Phnom Penh
11:07Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

06.09.2019 16:02
Rosoboronexport sums up the results of MAKS-2019
06.09.2019 15:55
Russian industry is progressing despite sanctions
04.09.2019 16:52
Pakistan to Buy 36 Mirage V Fighter Jets from Egypt Amid Build-Up With India
04.09.2019 14:53
Belarusian President Offers to Launch Joint Anti-Terror Effort of UN, EU, CSTO, CIS, SCO
23.07.2019 17:39
SCO Secretary-General expressed his condolences on the demise of the IAEA Director General Yukiya Amano
16.07.2019 17:56
US Reluctant to Share AI Tech With Other Countries - Security Analyst
12.07.2019 16:23
SCO Kunming International Marathon receives IAAF Bronze Label
08.07.2019 17:57
India should clearly demarcate its fundamental interests
26.06.2019 15:31
Armed Terrorists Strike Western Province of Pakistan, Injuring Two Police - Reports
25.06.2019 18:15
SCO 2019: hits and misses for India
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
SCO Secretariat SCO Business Council The Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure Of SCO SCO Interbank Consortium
Bishkek: city at the foot of Heavenly Mountains
04.06.2019 15:43 Elmira Toktogulova, Kyrgyzstan

Bishkek is a relatively young city. This year, it will celebrate only its 141st birthday. The first human settlements on the site of Bishkek and its suburbs appeared long ago, in the 5th-3rd centuries BC. Archaeologists find here evidence of various settlements, from the Saka and Wusun tribes to ancient Turkic khaganates of Middle Ages. Starting from the 15th century, the majority of the population were Kyrgyz tribes.

The modern history of the city began in 1878, when Gerasim Kolpakovsky, military governor of the Semirechensk region, ordered to move the center of the Tokmak district to the town of Pishpek. The city’s layout, with a clear pattern of blocks and straight streets running from the south northwards and from the east westwards, was developed at the turn of the 20th century, under the first governor, Ilya Terentyev. In 1926, the Soviet authorities renamed the city Frunze, to commemorate Soviet commander Mikhail Frunze. In 1991, after the Soviet Union broke up, the government of Kyrgyzstan restored the historical name of the capital, Bishkek.

Bishkek today is an international and interfaith city. As many as 20 ethnicities and tens of confessions – Islam, Christianity, Buddhism, etc. – coexist here peacefully. Young people and children make up half of the city’s population, which has a strong impact on its character. Bishkek is the country’s absolute leader for the number of kindergartens, schools, universities, colleges, sports sections, nightclubs, and alpine ski resorts. The young urban population enthusiastically picks up international trends, such as healthy lifestyle, active tourism, jogging and biking, development of IT and creative technology.

Bishkek is a donor of the entire country, accounting for almost 40% of the nation’s gross domestic product. It is also a trade hub between China, Kazakhstan and Russia.

 Its universities are the alma mater and place of employment not only for hundreds of thousands of Kyrgyz students and their teachers, but also for a big number of foreign young people and professors from 45 countries. Bishkek has about 30 universities: the Manas Kyrgyz-Turkish University, the American University in Central Asia, the Kyrgyz Akhunbayev State Medical Academy, the Kyrgyz Technical University, etc.

Bishkek is also a center of science, with about 70 research and development institutes and laboratories established on the basis of the National Academy of Sciences. Over 200 developments of Kyrgyz designers were used for space exploration and in science: a drilling unit for the Moon-24 space station, a unique method for determining the age of lakes and rivers using uranium isotopes, and others.

The city is not large, but it has remarkable architecture and is surrounded by beautiful mountains, rivers and lakes. You won’t find ancient temples or fortresses here: time and cataclysms did not spare them. But even the existing buildings create a historical outline: clay-walled huts from the previous centuries, typical apartment blocks of the Soviet era, and latest buildings, looking like business quarters of a technopolis. Neoclassical buildings create a distinct accent in the image of the city. Their European look comes as a surprise for tourists who expect to see oriental arches, ornamental patterns and domes in an Asian city.

On the foothills in the southern part of Bishkek there is a house that for many years was home to internationally renowned writer Chinghiz Aitmatov. There is a monument to him in the city center.

On the northern slope of the Ala-Too range, 40 km from the capital, there is the Ala-Archa national park. The gorge overgrown by juniper offers over 150 mountain-climbing and tourist routes; there are warm and hot springs, and an amazing variety of flora and fauna on mountain slopes.

All this creates unforgettable memories for every visitor of the Kyrgyz capital, making everyone wish to come back to one of Central Asia’s cleanest, greenest and, more importantly, freest and most cosmopolitan cities.

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

How USA “divides and rules” Asia
28.05.2019 18:29
Nowruz: Eurasian holiday of spring
22.04.2019 14:00
Dushanbe is a city to live in
18.01.2019 15:06
Children of SCO states to build common future
22.08.2017 13:16
SCO: Moving towards new horizons
22.08.2017 13:13
Shanghai Cooperation Organisation: 16 years of steady progress
17.07.2017 11:29
Exhibition on World Heritage Sites of SCO countries opens in Beijing
15.06.2017 11:28
SCO Pavilion at EXPO 2017 receives first visitors
10.06.2017 11:18
The first joint forum of the SCO banking, financial and business communities takes place in Astana
08.06.2017 11:16
Astana presents EXPO 2017
07.06.2017 13:33

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.