The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
04:19Astana
04:19Bishkek
03:49Delhi
06:19Beijing
02:19Moscow
03:19Islamabad
03:19Dushanbe
03:19Tashkent
Observer States:
02:49Tehran
01:19Minsk
06:19Ulan-Bator
02:49Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
02:49Yerevan
03:49Katmandu
01:19Ankara
05:19Phnom Penh
03:49Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
Only 100,000 People Expected on Trump’s Visit Not 7 Million
20.02.2020 16:47

Preparations are in full swing to greet US President Donald Trump and First Lady Melania Trump on their first-ever India visit on 24-25 February. Trump expressed his excitement over the visit on Wednesday (19 Feb) on being promised a welcome by 7 million people from the airport to the venue of a public reception in Gujarat.

Contrary to claims by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi that he would welcome US President Donald Trump and First Lady Melania Trump during their visit to Ahmedabad with several million people lined up along their route. Municipal Commissioner of the city Vijay Nehra said nearly 100,000 people are expected to show up along the 22-kilometre route from the airport to the Sardar Patel Cricket Stadium in Motera, reported national news agency PTI on Thursday.   

On Wednesday (19 Feb), President Trump told reporters, “Narendra Modi says between the stadium and the airport, we’ll have about 7 million people. So it’s going to be very exciting. I hope you all enjoy it".

The claim by Modi, who was the head of Gujarat for 12 years, appeared to be a bit of a stretch, as the total population of Ahmedabad is estimated to only be between 6 million to 6.5 million. 

Twitterians have already started mock Prime Minister Modi, with memes and jokes for promising President Trump such an unrealistic crowd.. 

The biggest challenge for Ahmedabad police to organise the event on 25 February will be to manage the crowd. From the airport both leaders will travel by road to the Sardar Patel Cricket Stadium, where they will open the world's largest cricket stadium, with a seating capacity of 110,000.

The planned welcome for Trump on 24 February is expected to be much grander than Modi's public event in Texas in September 2019. The reception in Ahmedabad has been named "Namasthe Trump" or welcome Trump. 

Later that day, he will travel to New Delhi, where he will hold talks with Modi. On Tuesday morning, Trump will first receive a ceremonial welcome at the president’s palace and Melania Trump will pay a visit to government schools in the national capital.

Source: https://sputniknews.com/asia/202002201078359168-only-100000-people-expected-on-trumps-visit-not-7-million/

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

INFORMATION REPORT on the Meeting of the Council of Heads of State of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Member States SCO SUMMIT 2020
10.11.2020 16:16
SCO Secretary-General attends SCO Plus inter-party forum
28.10.2020 17:45
China Imposes New Restrictions on US News Outlets in Retaliatory Move Against Washington
27.10.2020 17:06
Chinese Ambassador Urges Canada Not to Grant Asylum to Hong Kong Protesters
19.10.2020 13:32
Britain Must Take 'Hard-Headed' Approach to China as Beijing to Rise in Global Economy - Rishi Sunak
07.10.2020 17:01
Chinese Military Says Participation in Army Games to Boost Partnership With Russia
28.08.2020 14:45
India, China, Pakistan Set to Participate in Wargames in Russia Next Month
25.08.2020 16:42
Putin, Berdimuhamedov hold telephone talk
13.05.2020 14:27
SCO Secretary-General meets with President of MODUL University Vienna
12.03.2020 11:51
Erdogan Neglects Relationship With China Pursuing His Own Interests
10.03.2020 16:26

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.