The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
01:52Astana
01:52Bishkek
01:22Delhi
03:52Beijing
23:52Moscow
00:52Islamabad
00:52Dushanbe
00:52Tashkent
Observer States:
00:22Tehran
22:52Minsk
03:52Ulan-Bator
00:22Kabul
::
00:22Yerevan
01:22Katmandu
22:52Ankara
02:52Phnom Penh
01:22Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
Tajik Foreign Minister arrives in Moscow on official visit
25.02.2020 14:22

The arrival of UN Secretary General Antonio Guterres in Islamabad earlier this monthmarked an important achievement for the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) government in Pakistan. Prime Minister Imran Khans party has consistently kept the issue of Kashmir and Indias crackdown in the valley alive as a focal point of its foreign policy and witnessed a surge in its popularity as the visit became successful. Several comments by the UN secretary general, pertaining, for example, to Pakistans role in climate change and its contributions in global peacekeeping operations, were televised and covered extensively.

The arrival of the secretary general follows the recent visit by Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, who had earlier stated that Ankara stands in solidarity with Pakistan on the issue of Kashmir and that India must cease its brutal clampdown and reinstate the fundamental rights of the citizens of the valley. What followed was a sharp rebuke from New Delhi and additional castigation directed at the Turkish president over what India said was interference in its internal affairs. Similar anger, however, cannot be directed at the UN secretary general and his visit to Pakistan.

Previously, the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) government came under fire for adopting a lax approach to the policies of the Bharatiya Janata Party government in India. The 2016 assassination of Burhan Wani in Kashmir should have led to a multipronged approach with diplomatic heavy-handedness beyond mere words of condemnation, according to many. The closeness of Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi with Pakistans former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif was noted on occasions such as on the sidelines of the Paris climate change summit in 2015 as well as the Modis unexpected visit to Lahore. This was contested by the PML-Ns opponents, who viewed any leanings toward the Modi government as unwarranted and a threat to national security. Much was also made of the inability of the former prime minister to present Kashmirs case forcefully at the Shanghai Cooperation Organization Conference at Ufa in Russia back in 2015. The meeting and the joint statement issued were considered anything but a breakthrough.

It is against this backdrop of the PML-Ns perceived diplomatic failings on Kashmir that this visit by the UN secretary general carries significance for the PTI domestically. Their opponents continue to grapple with severe controversies, chief of which was the 2017 dismissal of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif over the Panama Papers revelations by the Supreme Court. Several leaders have also been arrested by the National Accountability Bureau over corruption charges. Meanwhile, Prime Minister Imran Khan, since his government assumed power, has been vociferous in his denunciation of the revocation of Article 370 and 35A of the Indian Constitution by the Modi government and featured Modis actions regularly in PTI rallies held across the country. In addition, his UN General Assembly speech last year aimed at targeting the rise of Islamophobia and calling on the international community to pay attention to the atrocities being committed in the Kashmir Valley. The speech was met with widespread approbation; several commentators, including many prominent detractors, lauded it.

Guterres visit also coincided with the hosting of the Refugee Summit in Islamabad, which featured several prominent celebrities. It helped in cementing Pakistans image as a peace broker with appreciation directed at initiatives such as the opening of the Kartarpur Corridor. The secretary general took note of the treatment of Muslims in India and Pakistans policies in dealing with the refugee influx from Afghanistan. This soft power projection gives the PTI political mileage and acts as a tool for political rallying for the future. Many PTI candidates that will be seeking reelection can recall the governments achievements in successfully projecting the Kashmir dispute in comparison to the PML-N.

As of late, the PTI government has endured severe castigation over its inability to translate its manifestos into concrete solutions for Pakistans economic problems. The opposition, emboldened by the PTIs shortcomings, had launched an attack on Khan with the conservative Jamaat-e-Ulema Islam (F) launching a protest march in November to dethrone the government on the pretext of economic difficulties. With the UN secretary generals visit being hailed as a success, however, the PTI has gained increasing political relevance in a state which continues to grapple with severe economic issues.

Source: https://thediplomat.com/2020/02/the-un-secretary-generals-visit-to-islamabad-boosts-the-ptis-fortunes/

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

INFORMATION REPORT on the Meeting of the Council of Heads of State of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Member States SCO SUMMIT 2020
10.11.2020 16:16
SCO Secretary-General attends SCO Plus inter-party forum
28.10.2020 17:45
China Imposes New Restrictions on US News Outlets in Retaliatory Move Against Washington
27.10.2020 17:06
Chinese Ambassador Urges Canada Not to Grant Asylum to Hong Kong Protesters
19.10.2020 13:32
Britain Must Take 'Hard-Headed' Approach to China as Beijing to Rise in Global Economy - Rishi Sunak
07.10.2020 17:01
Chinese Military Says Participation in Army Games to Boost Partnership With Russia
28.08.2020 14:45
India, China, Pakistan Set to Participate in Wargames in Russia Next Month
25.08.2020 16:42
Putin, Berdimuhamedov hold telephone talk
13.05.2020 14:27
SCO Secretary-General meets with President of MODUL University Vienna
12.03.2020 11:51
Erdogan Neglects Relationship With China Pursuing His Own Interests
10.03.2020 16:26

Comments(0)

.