The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
01:45Astana
01:45Bishkek
01:15Delhi
03:45Beijing
23:45Moscow
00:45Islamabad
00:45Dushanbe
00:45Tashkent
Observer States:
00:15Tehran
22:45Minsk
03:45Ulan-Bator
00:15Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
00:15Yerevan
01:15Katmandu
22:45Ankara
02:45Phnom Penh
01:15Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

22.07.2020 16:18
SCO Secretariat and Pakistani Centre for Global & Strategic Studies hold a webinar
22.07.2020 15:51
SCO Secretary-General takes part in a videoconference on SCO digital economy and e-commerce in COVID-19 environment
21.07.2020 10:58
SCO Secretary-General meets with Swiss ambassador to China
21.07.2020 10:55
Vladimir Norov: “China’s achievements in eliminating poverty have won high recognition from the world community.” Article by SCO Secretary-General for
16.07.2020 11:49
Upcoming webinar on the theme: "SCO: The way to Regional Cooperation and Integrated Development"
16.07.2020 11:44
Meeting of Experts on Preparations for the Meeting of Health Ministers of the SCO Member States
14.07.2020 09:48
Interview by the SCO Secretary-General on the fifth anniversary of the adoption of the SCO Development Strategy Towards 2025
07.07.2020 11:50
SCO Secretary-General’s interview on the occasion of International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:03
SCO Secretary-General addresses a special event on the International Day against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:00
SCO Secretary-General addresses OSCE Security Review Conference
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
Erdogan Neglects Relationship With China Pursuing His Own Interests
10.03.2020 16:26

In the beginning of February this year, U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo has once again noted the problem of human rights violation in Xinjiang Uighur Autonomous Region (XUAR) of China. The head of U.S. Department of State urged the international community to draw attention to the “plight of more 1 million Uighur Muslims and ethnic Kazakhs that are detained in internment camps of Xinjiang” and called on Beijing to put an end to this repression.

Mike Pompeo is not the first world-level politician who mentioned this issue. The Turkish officials are also among those who pointed out the subject of so-called “reeducation camps”. During the municipal election race in spring of last year, the country’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs’ representative urged China to respect the rights of ethnic Uighurs and to close the camps where the latest are custodied. In the context of election campaign the ruling power apparently leaned on additional support from Uighurs located in Turkey. Moreover, Ankara wanted to gain the backing of the USA and EU countries like it was in 2009, when Erdogan being at that time country’s prime-minister, defined Beijing’s Uighur national policy as “genocide”. However, anti-China outburst fell on deaf ears of the West this time, which by all accounts didn’t want to promote Erdogan’s party in election race.

Beijing’s reaction was opposite to the West’s: firstly China’s officials declared the shutting down of its consulate in Turkey’s Izmir, and then threatened Ankara with economic sanctions if it continues to interfere in China’s internal affairs. Amid the growth of crisis in relationship of two countries, Erdogan’s visit to China in the beginning of July last year was right up his alley. It was expected to become a touchstone of these tensions. Given the Turkish economic insecurity, it was hard to believe that provident Turkish leader would resume his Beijing-accusatory narrative.

People in Xinjiang “live happily,” – it’s Erdogan quotation from his speech in Beijing represented by “Xinhua”. Chinese media strove to show Ankara’s extensive support of China’s policy in East Turkestan. The logic went like the consulate’s suspension and other warnings made by China came in useful. However it happened that things weren’t going too well for China-Turkey relationship.

Hong Kong news media company “South China Morning Post” (SCMP) a few days after the end of Erdogan’s visit to Beijing, published news that Turkish leader’s comment was mistranslated. Moreover, according to agency, Turkish officials claimed that China refused to correct the translation even after the mistake was pointed out by Ankara. SCMP writes that Turkish president should have been quoted as saying that Turkey “hopes the people of China’s Xinjiang live happily in peace and prosperity”.

It seems that Beijing fiercely attempted to show a much-desired bilateral reconciliation, trying to conceal the rift between two countries which sprang a few months before Erdogan’s visit. However, Turkey didn’t give up its position and showed readiness to defend its interests even threatened with economic sanctions.

All the appeals of Chinese authorities to Turkey to persecute radical islamists from XUAR in Syria are still ignored by Ankara. It doesn’t matter who fights for Turkey in Arab Republic’s North: Uighur of Afghan. The only thing that matters – it should serve Turkey’s interests.

By Ali Zeid, Lebanese Middle East researcher

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

Putin, Berdimuhamedov hold telephone talk
13.05.2020 14:27
SCO Secretary-General meets with President of MODUL University Vienna
12.03.2020 11:51
India Attends SCO Working Group on Military Cooperation in Pakistan
25.02.2020 15:12
Tajik Foreign Minister arrives in Moscow on official visit
25.02.2020 14:22
Iran, Russia review bilateral cooperation in SCO
25.02.2020 13:59
Only 100,000 People Expected on Trump’s Visit Not 7 Million
20.02.2020 16:47
India Not to Revoke Special Status of Northeastern States Bordering China - Home Minister
20.02.2020 16:42
Secretary General of Shanghai Cooperation Organization meets with President of Azerbaijan
14.02.2020 14:29
China-Russia ties to deepen despite US wedge
24.01.2020 11:49
Rosoboronexport sums up the results of MAKS-2019
06.09.2019 16:02

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.