The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
01:43Astana
01:43Bishkek
01:13Delhi
03:43Beijing
23:43Moscow
00:43Islamabad
00:43Dushanbe
00:43Tashkent
Observer States:
00:13Tehran
22:43Minsk
03:43Ulan-Bator
00:13Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
00:13Yerevan
01:13Katmandu
22:43Ankara
02:43Phnom Penh
01:13Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
SCO considers rapid response measures to infectious disease outbreaks
17.03.2020 13:47

BEIJING, 11 March (TASS) — SCO Secretary-General Vladimir Norov said that the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) was analysing several proposals on rapid response measures to infectious disease outbreaks in the context of the ongoing coronavirus epidemic.

"As of now, the virus has directly affected several SCO member states, that is, not only China but also Russia, India and Pakistan. We are seriously concerned about the speed with which the virus is spreading in Iran, which is a SCO observer state," Vladimir Norov told TASS on March 11.

The Secretary-General pointed out that the SCO countries "are supporting each other in this hour of common trouble, sharing experience, methods and views on combating this novel disease." The leaders of the SCO countries expressed solidarity with the Chinese people and dispatched assistance to them, namely medicine, equipment and protective gear, as well as medical professionals, such as Russian virology experts. Vladimir Norov said that such combined efforts would definitely accelerate the efforts to create a vaccine against the novel coronavirus.

He recalled that in June 2018 the heads of the SCO countries adopted a Statement on Joint Efforts against the Threat of Epidemics in the SCO Space. "We believe that the provisions of this statement are universally important, in particular, the provisions on exchanging reliable information about infectious diseases in the SCO space and response measures, as well as on enhancing the potential of the systems created to prevent emergencies," the Secretary-General pointed out.

The rapid response system

Based on the analysis of the current situation, the SCO Secretariat has formulated several proposals and sent them to the related agencies of the SCO member states. They provide for creating a multilateral information system in the event of a dangerous infectious disease that can potentially grow into an epidemic.

Vladimir Norov noted that healthcare cooperation had become more important than ever before in the light of the continuing spread of the epidemic around the world and the emergence of new infections and pathogens, as well as because old diseases had proliferated to new territories, for various reasons, and their epidemiological characteristics were changing.

He added that over the past years the SCO countries had contributed to the international efforts against the outbreaks of the Ebola and Zika viruses, plus other diseases, including those that are infectious. He noted that the coronavirus epidemic had shown that any infectious disease could grow into a global threat within days. The SCO has a number of cooperation mechanisms established to

fight such challenges. The SCO Secretary-General also recalled that the SCO countries had agreed at a conference held in Moscow on 16 December 2019 to "regularly hold exercises to identify and learn to respond to sanitary and epidemiological emergencies, including by using mobile laboratories."

"In a nutshell, we are making full use of the existing SCO cooperation mechanisms created to prevent and clamp down on diseases. They can be used very effectively to fight the threats and challenges to public health," Vladimir Norov concluded.

Source: TASS

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

Vladimir Norov: Collective efforts needed to fight coronavirus
21.04.2020 09:49
SCO praises China’s measures against coronavirus
17.03.2020 13:54
China praises PM Modi's letter to Xi Jinping on coronavirus assistance
10.02.2020 16:32
Ten Cities in China's Hubei Province Suspend Transport Connections Over Coronavirus Outbreak
24.01.2020 10:17
Russia Developing Vaccine Against Coronavirus Detected in China - Head of Consumer Welfare Agency
22.01.2020 17:17
Avicenna in the SCO space
08.06.2018 16:30
SCO, Red Cross sign memorandum of understanding
13.06.2017 10:10

Comments(1)

07.04.20 09:17
Borrow money here today at 3% interest rate. Sawda Capital Finance offer all kind of financial services of all sizes ranging from individuals, companies and trader's globally. Our services is 100% guarantee and risk free.

We build just the right financing for each client, with simple paperwork, quick approvals, and flexible payment schedules. For further details, Kindly contact us via email At: sawda.finance@gmail.com

Intermediaries/Consultants/Brokers are welcome to bring their clients and are 100% protected. In complete confidence, we will work together for the benefits of all parties involved, Looking forward to rendering the best of our services to all esteemed clientele globally.

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.