The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
02:49Astana
02:49Bishkek
02:19Delhi
04:49Beijing
00:49Moscow
01:49Islamabad
01:49Dushanbe
01:49Tashkent
Observer States:
01:19Tehran
23:49Minsk
04:49Ulan-Bator
01:19Kabul
::
01:19Yerevan
02:19Katmandu
23:49Ankara
03:49Phnom Penh
02:19Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
SCO Secretary-Generals interview on the occasion of International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
07.07.2020 11:50

On 26 June, SCO Secretary-General Vladimir Norov granted an interview to the Russian news agency TASS, China's Renmin Ribao, Pakistan's Daily Islamabad Post and several other media outlets on the occasion of International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking.

Vladimir Norov mentioned the importance of the event, adding that the fight against drug abuse has been one of the SCO's priorities since its establishment.
He expressed concern over the alarming growth of the illegal drug business and the proliferation of drug abuse around the world, which has an extremely negative impact on all spheres of public life and on state administration. The SCO Secretary-General focused on the importance of building up multilateral cooperation between states and international organisations with the aim of finding an effective solution to the drug problem.

Vladimir Norov mentioned the SCO's international weight in restraining drug traffic from Afghanistan, which has been recognised by the senior officials of the concerned UN bodies and regional organisations.

He noted that the SCO member states were closely monitoring the current trends in the illicit drugs market, arising due to changes in the supply chains and routes, and are working out practical measures to neutralise the related risks. He emphasised the importance of giving more attention to the symbiosis between drug trafficking and terrorism by properly articulating the problem at the UN and other large international platforms.

The Secretary-General reaffirmed the SCO's readiness to develop a constructive dialogue on the drug problem with the other concerned regional associations in Eurasia, including the CSTO, the CIS, ASEAN and the OSCE.

He pointed out that the legalisation of certain types of recreational drugs, contrary to the current international law on drugs, was unacceptable. In this context, Vladimir Norov called for strict compliance with the three UN anti-drug conventions, including when it comes to the use of drugs and psychotropic substances exclusively for medical and scientific purposes.

In conclusion, the SCO Secretary-General mentioned the importance of the joint implementation of the SCO Anti-Drug Strategy and the SCO Concept for the Prevention of the Abuse of Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances aimed at improving the methods of preventing drug abuse and the treatment of drug users.

International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking was established on 7 December 1987 in accordance with resolution A/RES/42/112 adopted at the 42nd Session of the UN General Assembly.

The full text of the interview is available on the websites of

Daily Islamabad Post

Centreline

Diplomatic News Agency

TASS

Renmin Ribao

China-news.tj

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

Press release on the results of the 10th Meeting of the Heads of the Competent Authorities for Combating Illicit Drug Trafficking of SCO Member States
09.11.2020 16:06
SCO Secretary-General addresses a special event on the International Day against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:03
Pakistan Army Rejects Reports of Joint Border Patrols with Iran
09.12.2019 18:17
USA understand Afghan problems, but dont wont to solve them
29.10.2018 16:07
Iran: holy war on afghan drugs
16.03.2012 12:43
"Drug addiction doesnt recognize any religion"
16.05.2011 13:31
Statement of Russias, Afghanistans and Pakistans Foreign Ministers
01.07.2009 12:22
Results of the Meeting of the SCO Countries Security Councils Secretaries in Moscow
25.05.2009 09:36
The President of Russia Met with the SCO Countries Security Councils Secretaries
22.05.2009 12:06
Meeting of the Heads of the SCO Countries Counter-Narcotics Agencies Held in Moscow
20.05.2009 17:59

Comments(0)

.