The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
03:36Astana
03:36Bishkek
03:06Delhi
05:36Beijing
01:36Moscow
02:36Islamabad
02:36Dushanbe
02:36Tashkent
Observer States:
02:06Tehran
00:36Minsk
05:36Ulan-Bator
02:06Kabul
Партнеры по диалогу::
02:06Yerevan
03:06Katmandu
00:36Ankara
04:36Phnom Penh
03:06Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte
Russia's Presidency in SCO SCO Secretariat SCO Business Council The Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure Of SCO SCO Interbank Consortium Expocenter
Press release on the results of the 10th Meeting of the Heads of the Competent Authorities for Combating Illicit Drug Trafficking of SCO Member States
09.11.2020 16:06

On 3 November 2020, the 10th Meeting of the Heads of the Competent Authorities for Combating Illicit Drug Trafficking of SCO Member States, hereinafter referred to as the Meeting, took place via videoconference. Attendees included representatives of the SCO Secretariat.

Police Major General Kirill Smurov, First Deputy Head of the Main Directorate for Drug Control of the Russian Interior Ministry, and Bakhtiyor Khakimov, Special Representative of the President of the Russian Federation in the SCO, greeted the participants on behalf of the presiding Russian party.

Attendees included Ms. B. Radhika, Deputy Director-General of the Narcotics Control Bureau, the Republic of India; Tlegen Matkenov from the Interior Ministry of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Ma Yangchun from the State Anti-Drugs Committee of the People's Republic of China; Bakyt Matmusayev from the Interior Ministry of the Kyrgyz Republic; U. F. Hayat from the Ministry of Narcotics Control of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan; Murtazo Haydarzoda from the Narcotics Control Agency, subordinated to the President of the Republic of Tajikistan, and Olim Narzullayev from the National Information-and-Analytical Centre for Narcotics Control, subordinated to the Government of the Republic Uzbekistan.

During the meeting, the parties exchanged views on the narcotics situation in SCO member states, prospects for expanding international cooperation in countering illicit narcotic drug trafficking and measures to expand practical cooperation between narcotics control agencies of SCO member states in a friendly and constructive atmosphere.

They reaffirmed their commitment to the 1961 Single Convention on Narcotic Drugs, amended by the 1972 Protocol, the 1971 Convention on Psychotropic Substances and the 1988 UN Convention against Illicit Traffic in Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic

Substances. They underscored the unshakeable nature of the three basic UN conventions and noted that the documents were the cornerstone of the international narcotic drugs control system.

They voiced concern over the steadily increasing production of narcotic drugs that seriously threaten regional and international security and stability. They also highlighted new narcotic drugs production trends, such as an increase in the share of synthetic drugs and the relocation of heroin laboratories from Afghanistan.

They confirmed the fact that the use of modern information and telecommunications technologies and electronic financial tools for criminal purposes continued to have a negative impact on national, regional and global security.

They gave a high assessment of the 2019 and 2020 International Anti-Drug Operation Spider Web.

They voiced their readiness to expand practical counter-narcotic cooperation between the competent authorities of SCO member states in the bilateral and multilateral formats.

Following the meeting the parties:

— welcomed the approval by the SCO Council of National Coordinators of a draft statement of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation's Heads of State Council on countering the drug threat, drafted by experts of competent authorities of SCO member states during working groups' meetings;

— decided to continue work on the draft working plan for the upcoming period (until 2023) to implement the action programme for fulfilling the Anti-Drug Strategy of SCO member states for 2018-2023 and approving it under the established procedure in 2021;

— modified the lineup of the working groups of the Meeting of the Heads of the Competent Authorities for Combating Illicit Drug Trafficking of SCO Member States.

The parties reaffirmed their intention to further advance common approaches and cooperation in combating illicit drug trafficking and strengthening the current international drug control system at the UN and other international counter-narcotic forums.

Source:http://eng.sectsco.org/news/20201105/688749.html

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

SCO Secretary-General’s interview on the occasion of International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
07.07.2020 11:50
SCO Secretary-General addresses a special event on the International Day against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking
06.07.2020 13:03
Pakistan Army Rejects Reports of Joint Border Patrols with Iran
09.12.2019 18:17
USA understand Afghan problems, but don’t wont to solve them
29.10.2018 16:07
Iran: holy war on afghan drugs
16.03.2012 12:43
"Drug addiction doesn’t recognize any religion"
16.05.2011 13:31
Statement of Russia’s, Afghanistan’s and Pakistan’s Foreign Ministers
01.07.2009 12:22
Results of the Meeting of the SCO Countries Security Councils Secretaries in Moscow
25.05.2009 09:36
The President of Russia Met with the SCO Countries Security Councils Secretaries
22.05.2009 12:06
Meeting of the Heads of the SCO Countries Counter-Narcotics Agencies Held in Moscow
20.05.2009 17:59

Comments(0)

Сообщите об орфографической ошибке

Сообщить
Выделенный текст слишком длинный.