The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
Member States:
13:38Astana
13:38Bishkek
13:08Delhi
15:38Beijing
11:38Moscow
12:38Islamabad
12:38Dushanbe
12:38Tashkent
Observer States:
12:08Tehran
10:38Minsk
15:38Ulan-Bator
12:08Kabul
:
12:08Yerevan
13:08Katmandu
10:38Ankara
14:38Phnom Penh
13:08Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

12.04.2018 11:22
A a mousetrap for Theresa May
09.04.2018 15:25
China urges to abandon "Cold War mentality"
05.04.2018 11:39
The EU needs the cooperation with Russia
02.04.2018 16:55
Austrian pragmatism is stronger than British cunning
28.03.2018 13:41
London forces for solidarity
18.12.2017 11:46
US President threatens to "incinerate" North Korea
29.11.2017 14:44
Rashid Alimov has a meeting with Shamshad Akhtar in Bangkok
28.11.2017 14:45
SCO-ESCAP relations enter a new stage
27.11.2017 14:46
Rashid Alimov: Economic cooperation is a key priority for SCO at the new development stage. The SCO Secretary-General delivers an address at the ESCAP
24.11.2017 14:51
SCO information stand installed in Bangkok
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
SCO Secretariat SCO Business Council The Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure Of SCO SCO Interbank Consortium
Homer of the East
11.01.2011 13:50
Homer of the East

A thousand years ago, the Persian poet Abul-Qasem from the city of Tus, who later became known as Ferdowsi (man of paradise) completed the second, final version of his grand poem, The Book of Kings (Shahnameh). Although close to court, Ferdowsi was a genius, which made his work eternal.

The poem consists of 50 padishahs, or reigns. These parts are different in length, from several dozens of verses to several thousands. The work represents the popular history, mythology and heroic epic of Iranian people from the first king till the 50th. It is a poetic retelling of the Avesta, which for the Iranians was the same as the Torah for the Jews and the Bible for Christians, plus a cycle of poems about the age of heroes and, finally, an inspired narrative about the real history of Iranian kingdoms in the time of Dariuss conquests. The story of Darius is connected to that of Alexander he Great, who overthrew him.

This enormous epic has several outstanding tales, including six masterpieces: Zahl and Rudabe, Rustams Seven Deeds, Rustam and Sukhrab, Siyavush, Isfandiyars Seven Deeds and Rustam and Isfandriyar. All these poems are connected only nominally, although, of course, they are all written by Ferdowsis prophetic hand, in lapidary wording, without the traditional oriental grandiloquency; on the contrary, they are laconic and passionate; finally, they are all deeply tragic and together offer an impressive panorama of human passions.

For example, the hero of Rustam and Sukhrab, the mighty Rustam, unknowingly fights his own son, and although Sukhrab suspects that he is fighting his father, Ferdowsi ends the tale with the sons tragic death from his fathers hand. He doesnt give justice a chance to triumph.

The fate of the ideal man is portrayed even more gloomily. This is the brilliant Siyavush, who bears resemblance to young Prince Gautama, i.e. Buddha himself. Simultaneously, it is a retelling of the story of the biblical Joseph, who, when sold into slavery by his brothers, found himself in the house of Egyptian official Potiphar and became the object of passion of Potiphars wife, who fell in love with the young slave.

In Ferdowsis version, the cunning villainess is the main characters stepmother, Sudabe, whom his father married after his first wife had died. If in Josephs story, the main character, having passed all the ordeals, becomes a pharaohs favorite and right hand, in Shahnameh, the life of the good man turns into a succession of betrayals, the triumph of deceit, meanness, infamy and slander, which drive this angel in flesh to grave.

The poem was a huge success and was copied by grateful readers hundreds of times. This way, a lot of errors, corruptions and later additions made their way to Shahnameh. So it was necessary to compare the countless copies and restore the original. Europeans were the first to take up this task, and it was only in 1829 that English philologist Turner Macan published his researched version of Shahnameh based on 17 copies of the poem. Seven years later, the French researcher Jules Mohl published a version based on 30 copies, and the work climaxed with nine volumes of Shahnameh with commentary that were prepared by the collective effort of Russian researchers from the Institute of Oriental Studies, the Soviet Academy of Sciences, and were published over the course of ten years (from 1960 till 1971). Iran declared this version canonic and all publications of the poem afterwards have been based on it.

A thousand years ago, Russia did not have a figure equal to Ferdowsi. Our young country was just emerging, but it already had its heroic epic, and the characters of Ilya Muromets and Svyatogor, the tales of Solovei the Whistler-Robber, of the mighty Sadko and Czar Vladimir Red Sun are consonant with Shahnameh. They are also about fight of the good and the evil, a cult of an ordinary man that becomes a hero, an ode to a peasants son Ivan, to peasant Mikula Selyaninovich who defeated a troop of knights; they praise freedom, honor and love, fear of God and loyalty to friends.

Miraculously, the heroes of our epics have never met on the battlefield like the soldiers of Alexander the Great and Darius on the pages of Shahnameh. Hopefully, this forebodes a peaceful future for the two great nations sharing the coast of a sea.

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

Children of SCO states to build common future
22.08.2017 13:16
SCO: Moving towards new horizons
22.08.2017 13:13
Shanghai Cooperation Organisation: 16 years of steady progress
17.07.2017 11:29
Exhibition on World Heritage Sites of SCO countries opens in Beijing
15.06.2017 11:28
SCO Pavilion at EXPO 2017 receives first visitors
10.06.2017 11:18
The first joint forum of the SCO banking, financial and business communities takes place in Astana
08.06.2017 11:16
Astana presents EXPO 2017
07.06.2017 13:33
Route of dialog, even if not always of silk
06.06.2017 10:59
SCO experts coordinate positions before 14th Culture Ministers Meeting
01.06.2017 14:16
The Phenomenon of Mongolia
25.05.2017 18:42

Comments(3)

Click here for the best best vitamin c serum currently in stock on the market plus reasonably priced.
!!!!!! ? .