Yuri Alekseyev, international commentator Russian North Korean summit: Moscow doesnt play behind its partners backs / SCO Shanghai Cooperation Organization

The website has been created with the financial assistance

of the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communications

of the Russian Federation

Make Infoshos my homepageContact usAdd to FavoritesHome
 
-
Member States:
13:53Astana
13:53Bishkek
13:23Delhi
15:53Beijing
11:53Moscow
12:53Islamabad
12:53Dushanbe
12:53Tashkent
Observer States:
12:23Tehran
10:53Minsk
15:53Ulan-Bator
12:23Kabul
::
12:23Yerevan
13:23Katmandu
10:53Ankara
14:53Phnom Penh
13:23Sri Dzhayavardenepura Kotte

SCO Currencies/Ruble

 
 
Country Code Currency Den. Rate
 
 

The official rate of the Central Bank of Russia

News

06.09.2019 16:02
Rosoboronexport sums up the results of MAKS-2019
06.09.2019 15:55
Russian industry is progressing despite sanctions
04.09.2019 16:52
Pakistan to Buy 36 Mirage V Fighter Jets from Egypt Amid Build-Up With India
04.09.2019 14:53
Belarusian President Offers to Launch Joint Anti-Terror Effort of UN, EU, CSTO, CIS, SCO
23.07.2019 17:39
SCO Secretary-General expressed his condolences on the demise of the IAEA Director General Yukiya Amano
16.07.2019 17:56
US Reluctant to Share AI Tech With Other Countries - Security Analyst
12.07.2019 16:23
SCO Kunming International Marathon receives IAAF Bronze Label
08.07.2019 17:57
India should clearly demarcate its fundamental interests
26.06.2019 15:31
Armed Terrorists Strike Western Province of Pakistan, Injuring Two Police - Reports
25.06.2019 18:15
SCO 2019: hits and misses for India
 
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
SCO Secretariat SCO Business Council The Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure Of SCO SCO Interbank Consortium
Russian North Korean summit: Moscow doesnt play behind its partners backs
04.06.2019 16:10 Yuri Alekseyev, international commentator

Ahead of the meeting between Russian President Vladimir Putin and North Korean leader Kim Jong-un, some observers could not help making bold comments. Some predicted its momentous importance, while others pointed to the regime of extreme secrecy introduced by both parties long before the talks, concluding that there were some big surprises on the way.

Alas, enthusiastic analysts did not receive any surprises or signs of a major shift in the parties positions or a breakthrough. Everything was quite matter-of-fact and businesslike. No chemistry between the leaders, and the outcome of the summit does not exceed moderate expectations.

President Putin was pleased with the first personal meeting with the North Korean leader, but even his assessments were quite reserved. All of us my colleagues and me are satisfied with the results of the negotiations. President Kim Jong-un is a fairly straightforward person and talks freely. We thoroughly discussed all items on the agenda bilateral relations, issues related to the sanctions, the United Nations, our relations with the United States and, of course, the main topic, denuclearization of the Korean Peninsula and touched upon various sides of all these problems.

As to the meeting itself, even though it was not too outstanding, it is impossible to underestimate its importance for both parties. It is pivotal for Russia to know how safe the situation at its border with North Korea can be, and whether it can rely on the efficiency of the contemplated trilateral projects of economic cooperation involving Russia, North Korea and South Korea. And there are many such projects, Putin pointed out. This includes direct railway communication between the south of the Korean Peninsula, the north and Russia, reaching the Trans-Siberian railway; there is a possibility of laying pipelines, and then we could start talking about oil and gas [deliveries]; and there is a possibility of building new power grids.

It seems that the meeting with Kim Jong-un provided the Russian president with exhaustive answers to his questions. It is no coincidence that he confidently told journalists after the meeting, As to reducing the threat of nuclear conflicts, it is definitely our common priority. But I got an impression that the North Korean leader shares this opinion, they just need guarantees of their own security, that is all. We need to consider it together.

Mr Putin once again emphasized Russias willingness to cooperate in the interests of reducing tensions on the Korean Peninsula and strengthening peace and security in Northeast Asia in general. But this can be achieved only with active participation of all interested nations, he added.

Did Kim hear him? It looks like he did. He announced that uninterrupted development of Korean-Russian relations is not simply in [the parties] common interests, but also crucial for ensuring peace and security in the region. He also stressed that Pyongyangs policy of building friendly relations with Russia remained unchanged.

Yet another important message Mr Putin sent to both the US and North Korea: Russia does not play behind its partners backs in any matters, including those related to Korea. The Russian President made it clear that he would openly discuss the results of Russian-Korean talks with both Pyongyang and Washington. Moreover, he said that Kim Jong-un had asked him to inform the American party about the talks and his position.

If we continue acting like this one step forward, two steps back we will not achieve the desired result. But if we progress gradually, respecting each others interests (and here I am referring to all stakeholders involved in the resolution of the North Korean problem and denuclearization of the Korean Peninsula) we may eventually achieve this goal, Mr Putin said.

Beijing has already declared its support to the Russian Presidents opinion. Time will show whether Donald Trump is ready to support such straightforward communication for resolving any problems.

  • Add Comment
  • Print

Leave a comment

*
*
*
 

More

US furthers alienation of Central Asian people, preventing their integration with traditional partners
04.06.2019 16:00
What George Soros is fighting for
22.04.2019 13:58
Venezuela in the tight clutches of the United States
22.04.2019 13:36
Americas sore spot in Eurasia
22.04.2019 13:13
New era of the Moscow-Beijing-Washington triangle
22.04.2019 12:49
British press intimidate public opinion
01.08.2018 15:22
Xinhua: China and Russia play a constructive role in resolution of acute international and regional problems
08.06.2018 15:20
Theresa May sacrificed Salisbury for her political ambitions
15.05.2018 15:31
The EU needs the cooperation with Russia
05.04.2018 11:39
Elimination of North Korea remains Americas strategic goal
07.12.2017 13:23

Comments(0)

.